The First Wife

A Novel of Suspense

Diana Diamond

St. Martin's Press

Download Image Diana Diamond The First Wife

Available Formats

BookeBook
For readers of Olivia Goldsmith and Mary Jane Clark comes a dramatic - and sensational - new thriller with twists and turns at every corner and a chilling shock-surprise of an ending.

Jane Warren swore she'd never marry again. Sure, age isn't a problem. Neither are her looks. Heaven knows that plenty of perfectly respectable men would consider themselves lucky to end up with someone like her. Then again, the last perfectly respectable man to end up with her - her ex-husband - ended their marriage, not to mention Jane's belief in happy endings...

But she just can't muster the cynicism to resist William Andrews - a dashing, debonair widower with two children of his own. Soon, Jane's doing what she swore she'd never do: Marching down the aisle, promising to have, hold, serve, and protect, 'til death do them part. But why does Andrew seem so obsessed with his dead wife? And why do the children seem to hate Jane so passionately?

As Jane struggles to understand the nature of the powerful hold Andrews's first wife still exerts over the husband and children she left behind, her day-to-day life grows increasingly more dangerous. During a family outing, she is suddenly thrown violently from her horse. Had someone deliberately spooked the horse? As she takes a midnight swim, the mechanical dome over the pool closes on her. Did it short circuit, or was it sabotage? Are these just coincidences, or are the stakes and risks getting higher the closer Jane gets to the truth? Someone would clearly like to see her follow the first Mrs. Andrews to the grave. Why?

In a thriller that moves from New York to Paris to the Caribbean, a plot filled with relentless suspense, and a witty and intelligent heroine worth cheering for, this latest from Diana Diamond is her best yet, an unputdownable romance of deadly proportions.

Connect with the Author

Diana Diamond

Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Reviews

Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

Diana Diamond

Diana Diamond is the psuedonym for a popular thriller writer.

Diana Diamond

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The First Wife
A Novel of Suspense
Diana Diamond

Hardcover

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press
June 2004
Hardcover
ISBN: 9780312321475
ISBN10: 0312321473
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 304 pages
$24.95

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
April 2010
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429903707
ISBN10: 1429903708
304 pages
$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

St. Martin's Press

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back