OVERRIDE

The Killing of Worlds

Book Two of Succession

Succession

Scott Westerfeld

Tor Books

#1 New York Times bestselling author Westerfeld continues one of the first great space operas of this century

Scott Westerfeld, New York Times bestselling author of Uglies, Pretties, and Specials, reached new heights of excitement with The Risen Empire and left readers begging for more. He delivers the dazzling payoff in book two, The Killing of Worlds.

The immortal Emperor can grant a form of eternal life-after-death, creating an elite known as the Risen, and so has ruled the eighty worlds unchallenged for sixteen hundred years. The only thing he fears are the Rix, machine-augmented humans who worship AI compound minds. They are dedicated to replacing his prolonged rule with an eternal cybernetic dynasty of their own.

Brilliant tactician Captain Laurent Zai of the Imperial Frigate Lynx faces a suicide mission: stopping the next thrust of the Rix invasion with just his own vessel. While ship-to-ship combat rages among the stars, Zai’s lover, Senator Nara Oxham, is caught in a deadly political fencing match with the Emperor himself. The Emperor has a terrible secret, a secret Nara is in danger of finding out, a secret for which he would countenance the killing of worlds.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

Militia Worker
 
 
The contrail of a supersonic aircraft blossomed weakly in the thin, dry air, barely marking the sky.
Rana Harter imagined the passengers far above: reclining in sculpted crash-safe chairs, the air they breathed scented with some perfumed disinfectant, perhaps being served some light snack now, midway to their destination. From up there, other contrails would be visible through windows of transparent hypercarbon. Most long-haul air routes on Legis passed over the pole. The continents were clustered in the northern hemisphere, far from the raging equatorial
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for The Killing of Worlds

“In the tradition of Isaac Asimov’s Foundation series and Frank Herbert’s Dune books. With a light touch all his own, Westerfeld illumines the clash of mighty galactic empires by focusing on individuals who, despite the distractions of war and politics, cannot help falling in love.”
--The New York Times on The Risen Empire

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Scott Westerfeld

  • Scott Westerfeld lives in New York City and Sydney, Australia.

  • Scott Westerfeld
BACK

COMMUNITY

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    The Killing of Worlds

    Book Two of Succession

    Succession

    Scott Westerfeld

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Tor Books

    BACK