OVERRIDE

The Lair of Bones

Runelords

David Farland

Tor Books

Certain works of fantasy are immediately recognizable as monuments, towering above the rest of the category. They have been written by the likes of Stephen R. Donaldson, Robert Jordan, and Terry Goodkind. Now add to that list David Farland, whose epic fantasy series began with The Runelords, continued in Brotherhood of the Wolf and the New York Times bestseller Wizardborn, and reaches its peak now in The Lair of Bones.

Prince Gaborn, the Earth King, has defeated the forces arrayed against him each time before: the magical and human forces marshaled by Raj Ahten, who seeks immortality at any cost and has given up his humanity in trade; and the inhuman, innumerable, insectile hordes of the giant Reavers from under the Earth, whose motives are unknowable, but inimical to human life. Now there must be final confrontations, both on the field of battle, with the supernatural creature that Raj Ahten has become, and underground, in the cavernous homeland of the Reavers, where the sorcerous One True Master who rules them all lies in wait--in the Lair of Bones. The survival of the human race on Earth is at stake.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

1
 
 
THE MOUTH OF THE UNDERWORLD
 
 
Rofehavan has always been bounded by the sea to the north and to the east, by the Hest Mountains to the west, and by the Alcair Mountains to the south. In an effort to assure that no war was ever waged over a desirable piece of land, Erden Geboren reached a concord with kings of Old Indhopal and the elders of Inkarra. He set the southeast border of his realm, where the three great realms met, in the most undesirable place on earth: at the opening to a vast and ancient reaver warren called the Mouth of the World.
--from
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for The Lair of Bones

"The Runelords Saga comes to a gripping conclusion in David Farland's The Lair of Bones. . . . Farland's imaginative use of magic and detailed world-building contribute to the impact . . . Gaborn is a flawed but likable hero whom readers will be sorry to leave behind. Fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Goodkind will enjoy Farland's Runelords."
Sometimes truly terrifying, sometimes impossibly sweet, The Lair of Bones is a tale sure to entrance any reader. This is a superb story with deeply empathetic characters.
"David Farland's Runelords books are among the best fantasies on the market today. Great characters, a fascinating concept, and some really nasty monsters make each novel a pleasure to read."
"The apparent conclusion of the Runelords brings the saga's conflicts to a resounding climax in a three-cornered confrontation. . . . The suspense is real, the action is nonstop, and the characterizations continue to convince. . . . [this is] a series that has put Farland on high-fantasy readers' maps."-Booklist on The Lair of Bones

"The Runelords Saga comes to a gripping conclusion in David Farland's The Lair of Bones. . . . Farland's imaginative use of magic and detailed world-building contribute to the impact . . . Gaborn is a flawed but likable hero whom readers will be sorry to leave behind. Fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Goodkind will enjoy Farland's Runelords."-Romantic Times

"Sometimes truly terrifying, sometimes impossibly sweet, The Lair of Bones is a tale sure to entrance any reader. This is a superb story with deeply empathetic characters."-Sara Douglass

"David Farland's Runelords books are among the best fantasies on the market today. Great characters, a fascinating concept, and some really nasty monsters make each novel a pleasure to read." -- Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of A Forest Of Stars and Dune: The Machine Crusade.
"The apparent conclusion of the Runelords brings the saga's conflicts to a resounding climax in a three-cornered confrontation. . . . The suspense is real, the action is nonstop, and the characterizations continue to convince. . . . [this is] a series that has put Farland on high-fantasy readers' maps."
"The Runelords Saga comes to a gripping conclusion in David Farland's The Lair of Bones. . . . Farland's imaginative use of magic and detailed world-building contribute to the impact . . . Gaborn is a flawed but likable hero whom readers will be sorry to leave behind. Fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Goodkind will enjoy Farland's Runelords."
Sometimes truly terrifying, sometimes impossibly sweet, The Lair of Bones is a tale sure to entrance any reader. This is a superb story with deeply empathetic characters.
"David Farland's Runelords books are among the best fantasies on the market today. Great characters, a fascinating concept, and some really nasty monsters make each novel a pleasure to read."

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • David Farland

  • David Farland is the author of the bestselling Runelords series, including Chaosbound, The Wyrmling Horde and Worldbinder. He also writes science-fiction as David Wolverton. He won the 1987 Writers of the Future contest, and has been nominated for a Nebula Award and a Hugo Award. Farland also works as a video game designer, and has taught writing seminars around the U.S. and Canada. He lives in Saint George, Utah.
  • David Farland
    David Farland
BACK

COMMUNITY

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    The Lair of Bones

    Runelords

    David Farland

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Tor Books

    BACK