OVERRIDE

The Ninth Talisman

Volume Two of The Annals of the Chosen

The Annals of the Chosen (Volume 2)

Lawrence Watt-Evans

Tor Books

The Annals of the Chosen continues in The Ninth Talisman-- Lawrence Watt-Evans’s an epic fantasy trilogy of duty, honor, and abuse of power

All the world is kept in a delicate balance under the supervision of the Wizard Lord. It is his duty to govern lightly and protect his domain…but if he should stray from the way of the just, then it is up to the Chosen to intercede.


The Chosen are the Leader, the Seer, the Swordsman, the Beauty, the Thief, the Scholar, the Archer, and the Speaker, magically infused mortals who for the term of their service have only one function—to remove an errant Wizard Lord. 


The Chosen fulfilled this role when they removed the previous Wizard Lord and exposed treachery within their own ranks. Since their last adventure, the world has returned to apparent peace and prosperity. The new Wizard Lord rules benevolently...but with an eye towards modernization through technology, instead of magic.
 

Do such plans jeopardize the delicate balance of power?

Is a Wizard Lord who is able to rule without magic a threat to the Chosen?

 

REVIEWS

Praise for The Ninth Talisman

“If you like swords, sorcery, and interplay between characters, this is the book for you.” —SF Revu

“Fans of Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman’s Dragonlance saga will find this series much to their taste.” —Publishers Weekly

“Veteran SF and fantasy author Watt-Evans displays his command of the fantasy genre in this fast-paced, fluidly told sequel to The Wizard Lord.” —Library Journal

“Well handled, with low-key surprises."—Kirkus on The Wizard Lord

“This fast-paced novel, full of magical people and mysterious forces, goes beyond pure entertainment to confront many real issues. The characters grapple with prejudice, fear, and the ideas of personal and societal responsibilities.”—VOYA on Night of Madness
 
“Remarkably inventive.”—Kirkus on Dragon Weather
 
“Combines swashbuckling fantasy with serious themes of self-sacrifice and personal courage in an adventure that belongs in most libraries.”—Library Journal on The Dragon Society
 
“Watt-Evans is a veteran tale spinner who has created an epic tale in a world that is as multi-faceted as the scales on a dragon’s back. With every step that Arlian takes, Watt-Evans leaves his readers wanting to know what will happen next.”—Tulsa World on Dragon Weather

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Lawrence Watt-Evans

  • LAWRENCE WATT-EVANS has been a full-time writer for more than thirty years, with more than forty novels and well over a hundred short stories to his credit. His story “Why I Left Harry’s All-Night Hamburgers” won the 1988 Hugo Award for short story, as well as the Asimov’s Readers Award, but he is probably best known for the Ethshar fantasy series. He lives in Takoma Park, Maryland, with his wife and the obligatory writer’s cat.

  • Lawrence Watt-Evans
BACK

COMMUNITY

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    The Ninth Talisman

    Volume Two of The Annals of the Chosen

    The Annals of the Chosen

    Lawrence Watt-Evans

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Tor Books

    BACK