OVERRIDE

These Mortal Remains

A Mystery

Texas Mysteries

Milton T. Burton

Minotaur Books

"Milton Burton writes with a ruthless charm rivaling the great Raymond Chandler." —Kinky Freidman

Milton T. Burton has charmed readers for years with his Texas mysteries, notable for their backwoods flair, down-home characters, and Southern-flavored sense of humor. In These Mortal Remains, Sheriff Bo Handel returns in a mystery which will have Burton's many fans hooting and hollering. Bo Handel knows Texas's Caddo County inside and out, from the town drunks to the teen troublemakers with too much time on their hands. But when Toby, an African-American deputy and one of Bo's best cops, is shot and left wounded on the side of the road, Bo's eyes are opened to a side of his county that he's never before seen. A group of white supremacists are occupying a compound on the edge of town, and a few key members are determined to wreak havoc on those they hate. Suspenseful, provocative, and smart, These Mortal Remains is a fantastic final book from a beloved Southern talent.

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

CHAPTER ONE
 
 
No one ever understood their reasons for picking the Royal. It had a brisk trade, but there were other places nearby that would have been more lucrative. Whatever their logic, it was a very unwise move on their part. According to witnesses, they burst through the door a little after seven-thirty that morning, wild-eyed and with their pistols already in hand.
“On the floor, assholes!” Topper Smith yelled.
Customers and staff alike stared at him without comprehension.
“Goddamn, am I going to have to kill somebody for you morons to figure
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for These Mortal Remains

Praise for Nights of the Red Moon:
“Lively and well-crafted . . . It made me glad to return to East Texas—at least in fiction.” —Patrick Anderson, The Washington Post

“Burton takes a sure hand to the small-town politics, paperwork hassles, and easy authority of an East Texas lawman's life.” —The Houston Chronicle

“Burton's rip-snorting third mystery will appeal to fans of Bill Crider, Ben Rehder, and Kinky Friedman.” —Publishers Weekly (starred)

“A tasty slice of local pie.” —The Austin American Statesman

“Burton’s down-home, good-old-boy narrative will appeal to mystery readers who enjoy a fresh voice.” —Library Journal

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Milton T. Burton

  • MILTON T. BURTON was variously a cattleman, a political consultant, and a college history teacher. He is the author of The Rogues' Game, The Sweet and the Dead, Nights of the Red Moon, and The Devil's Odds, all of which were published by Minotaur Books. He lived in Tyler, Texas, prior to his death in late 2011.
  • Milton T. Burton Steve Fisch
BACK

COMMUNITY

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    These Mortal Remains

    A Mystery

    Texas Mysteries

    Milton T. Burton

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Minotaur Books

    BACK