OVERRIDE

The Violet Hour

Daniel Judson

Minotaur Books

In Daniel Judson’s powerful thriller, Bridgehampton mechanic Caleb Rakowski gets paid under the table at his friend Eric Carver’s auto repair shop and lives in an apartment above it. He’s good at his job and he’s making a decent living, but right now he’s sheltering a pregnant friend who’ll do anything to keep her abusive husband away from her. Cal has sworn to protect her. Little does he know, though, the trouble destined to come down over the course of three days—Mischief Night, Halloween, and the Day of the Dead—when he learns the truth about his friend and boss Eric Carver and what he’s been hiding all these years.

Daniel Judson is a craftsman of modern noir, an incredible talent in the vein of Ellroy or Chandler. Like his previous novels, The Violet Hour is tightly drawn, hauntingly atmospheric, and completely searing.

 

 

 

 

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

THE VIOLET HOUR

One

During the final week of October, on a clear but moonless night, the last train from Manhattan pulled into Bridgehampton, a solitary female passenger disembarking and heading straight for the nondescript black Ford sedan waiting at the far end of the station parking lot.

She was tall—this much her long overcoat could not conceal—but beneath the coat was the body of an athlete, lean and strong, which was something of a miracle, considering where she had come from, the childhood she’d endured and, at last, escaped. A head of curly black

READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for The Violet Hour

Praise for Daniel Judson

“[Judson] mines Long Island’ South Fork for glittering noir nuggets.”
--Publishers Weekly on The Violet Hour

“In the cutthroat game of Survivalist Poker, Cal can wheel and deal with the worst of them.”
--Kirkus Reviews on The Violet Hour

“Daniel Judson is so much more than a crime-fiction novelist. He’s a tattooed poet, a mad philosopher of the Apocalypse fascinated with exploring the darkest places in people’s souls.”
--Chicago Tribune on The Water’s Edge

“Action packed. . . . It’s noir on ice.”
--USA Today on The Darkest Place
Praise for Daniel Judson

“[Judson] mines Long Island’ South Fork for glittering noir nuggets.”
--Publishers Weekly on The Violet Hour

“In the cutthroat game of Survivalist Poker, Cal can wheel and deal with the worst of them.”
--Kirkus Reviews on The Violet Hour

“Daniel Judson is so much more than a crime-fiction novelist. He’s a tattooed poet, a mad philosopher of the Apocalypse fascinated with exploring the darkest places in people’s souls.”
--Chicago Tribune on The Water’s Edge

“Action packed. . . . It’s noir on ice.”
--USA Today on The Darkest Place

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Daniel Judson

  • Daniel Judson, a Shamus Award winner and three-time finalist, is the author of four previous novels, most recently The Water’s Edge. He attended Southampton College, and his time in the Hamptons (particularly the parts that don’t make the society pages) was the inspiration for the setting and characters in The Violet Hour. He now lives in Connecticut.
  • Daniel Judson Photo: Christine Alexander
    Daniel Judson
BACK

COMMUNITY

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    The Violet Hour

    Daniel Judson

    • Trade Paperback

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Minotaur Books

    BACK