The Widow's Revenge

Charlie Moon Mysteries (Volume 14)

James D. Doss

Minotaur Books

Download Image James D. Doss The Widow's Revenge

Available Formats

BookeBook

A day’s work is never done for part-time P.I. Charlie Moon. As if fighting the toughest hombres and nastiest outlaws roaming the Southwest weren’t enough, Charlie must still save up some strength—and a whole lot of patience—for the little guys. His latest distress call is no exception: Local widow Loyola Montoya is making a fuss about witches. Witches?

Loyola swears there’s a whole midnight brood lurking in the woods, mocking her with lewd songs and harassing her with the carcasses of dead animals. Since she’s been known to cry wolf, Charlie’s loath to take her too seriously—until he arrives and discovers that Loyola took matters into her own hands…with disastrous results. Even though it’s too late for Charlie to save her, his Aunt Daisy—an aged Ute shaman who can communicate with the spirit world—may just have what it takes to help the widow get her revenge after all.

Connect with the Author

James D. Doss

Related Links


Sign Up for
Author Updates

Macmillan Newsletter


Sign up to receive information about new books, author events, and special offers.

Sign up now

Book Excerpts

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One
LA PLATA COUNTY, COLORADO
The Widow Montoya’s Farm
Suspended high in the southern sky, the silvery satellite pulls a diaphanous cloud veil over her naked, pockmarked face. Is this a matter of modesty—does the pale lady prefer not to be seen? Or might it be the other way around—is there something on the widow’s property that White Shell Woman prefers not to see?
THE SLEEPER
As a youth, Loyola sought adventure, wealth, and pleasure. In her wiser, twilight years, she treasures peace above all earthly delights; a good night’s rest is a gift beyond

Read the full excerpt

Back

Reviews

Praise for The Widow's Revenge

Praise for James D. Doss

and his Charlie Moon mysteries

SNAKE DREAMS

“Outstanding… The narrator clearly is having fun as he unveils his tale, liberally laced with Native American lore, character idiosyncrasies, comedic asides, and a plot that weaves and twists like a highway in the Rockies.”
Library Journal (starred review) 

Snake Dreams is the thirteenth novel in this series, and since it’s a very good one—funny, smart, and totally different—it’s a great place for readers to discover Moon.”
Toronto Globe and Mail

THREE SISTERS

“One of  his best yet!”—Booklist

“Wild, authentic…and highly satisfying.”—Detroit Free Press  “A finely cut gem.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“James D. Doss’ novels about Charlie Moon…feel as if the author is sitting around a campfire, spinning a tall tale that engulfs a circle of listeners…Doss’ tale is evocative of the area and of Indian lore, and his chatty, down-home style shines in Three Sisters.”—Florida Sun-Sentinel

“Doss’s trademark humor keeps Charlie and Scott wisecracking as the plot spins smartly along to an unpredictable ending…Moon mysteries still charm us with Western voices and ways.”—Rocky Mountain News

STONE BUTTERFLY

“Style, pathos, enthusiasm, and humor to spare.”—Mystery Scene          

“A clever plot…will keep readers turning the pages.”—Publishers Weekly

“The Moon series deftly blends traditional mystery elements with Native American mythology—a surefire read-alike for Hillerman fans.”—Booklist


“Droll, crafty, upper-echelon reading.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

SHADOW MAN

“Doss likes to toss a little Native American spiritualism and a lot of local color into his mysteries. Fans of the series will be well pleased.”—Booklist

"Fans of Daisy Perika, the 80-something shaman who brings much of the charm and supernatural thrill to James D. Doss’ mystery series, should like Shadow Man…nice reading.”—Rocky Mountain News


Reviews from Goodreads

Back

About the Author

James D. Doss

James D. Doss is the author of the Charlie Moon mysteries, including A Dead Man’s Tale. Two of the Moon books were named one of the best books of the year by Publishers Weekly. Originally from Kentucky, he divides his time between Los Alamos and Taos, New Mexico.

James D. Doss

Photo: Kirk W. Doss
James D. Doss

Back

Community

 

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back

Buy the Book

Available Formats and Book Details

The Widow's Revenge
James D. Doss

Mass Market Paperbound

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
November 2010
Mass Market Paperbound
ISBN: 9780312532475
ISBN10: 0312532474
4 3/16 x 6 3/4 inches, 336 pages
$7.99

e-Book Agency

e-Book Agency
St. Martin's Press
Minotaur Books
October 2009
e-Book Agency
ISBN: 9781429943109
ISBN10: 1429943106
6 1/8 x 9 1/4 inches, 304 pages
$7.99
Back

From The Publisher

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

Latest on Twitter

Back