Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group


Glass Thorns (Volume 3)

Melanie Rawn

Tor Fantasy



Mass Market Paperbound

Melanie Rawn returns to her rich high fantasy world in Thornlost, the sequel to Touchstone and Elsewhens.

Cayden is part Elf, part Fae, part human Wizard—and all rebel. His aristocratic mother would have him follow his father to the Royal Court, to make a high-society living off the scraps of kings. But Cade lives and breathes for the theater, and he's good, very good. He's a tregetour—a wizard who is both playwright and magicwielder. It is Cade's power that creates the magic, but a tregetour is useless without a glisker—an elf who can spin out the magic onto the stage, to enchant the audience. And Cade's glisker, Mieka, is something special too. So is their fettler, Rafe, who controls the magic and keeps them and the audience safe. And their masker, Jeska, who speaks all the lines, is every young girl's dream.

They are reaching for the highest reaches of society and power, but not the way Cade's mother thinks they should. They'll change their world, or die trying.

The Glass Thorns Series
#1 Touchstone
#2 Elsewhens
#3 Thornlost
#4 Window Wall
#5 Playing to the Gods (forthcoming)


Chapter 1

Reality intruded on Cayden's notice in the form of a flaming pig.
Seated in a place of honor in the small courtyard of Number 39, Hilldrop Crescent, he had an excellent view of every marvel of cookery that...


Praise for Thornlost

“Rawn's elegantly written saga about an artist's compulsion to create is a superb homage to the world of the theater and sets a new benchmark for excellence in high fantasy.” —Library Journal, starred review on Elsewhens

“A lived-in world where the scars from magical wars still linger and pure blood is a thing of the distant past…. will appeal to fantasy fans and theater lovers alike.” —Publishers Weekly on Touchstone

“With a fully realized world and magical system, as well as a character-driven plot, this will appeal to fans of traditional fantasies like [Sanderson's] Warbreaker or [O'Sullivan's] Riyria series.” —Booklist on Touchstone

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Melanie Rawn

MELANIE RAWN is the author of the bestselling Dragon Prince trilogy and the Dragon Star trilogy. Her most recent fantasy novels are Touchstone, Elsewhens, and Thornlost. She graduated from Scripps College and has worked as a teacher and editor. Rawn lives in Flagstaff, Arizona.

Melanie Rawn

Teresa Taylor

From the Publisher

Tor Fantasy

Latest on Facebook