OVERRIDE

Unseen

A Mystery

Inspector Anders Knutas Mysteries (Volume 1)

Mari Jungstedt; Translated by Tiina Nunnally

Minotaur Books

Swedish crime at its best---dark, atmospheric, and chilling
 
The island of Gotland is in the middle of a busy tourist season and getting ready for Midsummer, the 4th of July of Swedish holidays, when a young woman and her dog are found brutally murdered. The dog has been beheaded and is missing a paw; the woman is naked, covered in gruesome axe wounds, and her panties have been stuffed in her mouth.
            What looks like a crime committed by the victim's jealous husband keeps the local police force on their toes. Then a second victim is found. A serial killer terrorizes tourists and locals alike, and Inspector Anders Knutas has to face additional pressure from the media and local politicians who are worried about bad PR for the island.
In his quest for the murderer, he is aided by Johan Berg, an intrepid young journalist from Stockholm who has been sent to cover the incidents and who gets involved with Emma, one of the first victim’s close friends. Three women die before Knutas and Berg, each approaching the case in their own way, finally close in on the killer, who has always, until now, been the one unseen by everybody.
Jungstedt has written an atmospheric and exciting first mystery in clear, unadorned prose, in the tradition of Henning Mankell, Håkan Nesser, and Karin Fossum.
 

BOOK EXCERPTS

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One

MONDAY, JUNE 4

The evening was turning out better than expected. Of course she had been a little nervous earlier, because it had been a long time since they had all seen each other, but now her anxiety had eased. After an extra-strong welcome drink, white wine with the appetizer, several glasses of red with the entrée, and port with dessert, everyone at the table was in a lively mood. Kristian told another joke about his boss, and the hoots of laughter echoed off the walls in the old limestone house.

Outside the window, fields of grain were swaying, and the poppies
READ THE FULL EXCERPT
BACK

REVIEWS

Praise for Unseen

"Unseen has everything we have come to expect from a great Swedish crime novel--- graceful prose, deft characterization, and a setting that is somehow both familiar and strange, like a kind of dream-world.  But what makes this first novel unique is its author's ability to write with a bird's-eye view about horrible events while at the same time maintaining a poet's sense of intimacy about what her characters think and feel.  Possessing such skills as these---scope and heart, a desire to get to the truth---makes Mari Jungstedt the new writer to watch." 
---Daniel Judson, Shamus Award winner and author of The Darkest Place
 
"A remarkable debut."
--Der Spiegel

"Tense, psychologically credible crime fiction that boasts both a concise plot and sympathetic and complex characters."
--literature.de

"True Swedish crime - exciting, harsh, yet sensitive."
--Hoerzu

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Mari Jungstedt; Translated by Tiina Nunnally

  • Mari Jungstedt has worked as a radio and TV journalist in her native Stockholm for fourteen years. This is her debut mystery, the first in a series set on the island of Gotland off the coast of Sweden, where the author spends her summers. She is married, has two children, and is currently at work on her fourth book.
     
BACK

COMMUNITY

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS
    BACK

    BUY THE BOOK

    Available Formats and Book Details

    Unseen

    A Mystery

    Inspector Anders Knutas Mysteries

    Mari Jungstedt; Translated by Tiina Nunnally

    • e-Book

    BACK

    FROM THE PUBLISHER

    Minotaur Books

    BACK