Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Watcher of the Dead

Watcher of the Dead

Book Four of Sword of Shadows

Sword of Shadows (Volume 4)

J. V. Jones

Tor Fantasy



Mass Market Paperbound

The epic fourth novel of the Sword of Shadows fantasy series

In this powerful saga of redemption and renewal, J. V. Jones brings to vivid life the magnificent tapestry of a world at once desperately fighting for survival against supernatural monsters and rent by internecine warfare. The frozen land at the north of the world was once ruled by a legendary nation of superhuman warriors. But that age has passed, leaving ancient clans to struggle for dominance as supernatural forces beyond their control threaten their very existence.

Amid the chaos of world-changing violence, unlikely heroes emerge. An unwanted warrior, a forsaken woman of power, the betrayed widow of a slain clan chief: these are the heroes rising to claim what has been taken from them and to reshape the world.

In a sharply observed narrative that illuminates these riven lives, Jones has crafted a human drama full of the excitement, suspense, and sheer storytelling power that have made the Sword of Shadows a fantasy series that transcends genre to become a memorable tale of human striving and triumph that speaks to readers as have few others.


The Story So Far
When he was seventeen, Raif Sevrance of Clan Blackhail developed the ability to heart- kill game. One morning while he was hunting in the Badlands with his brother Drey, his father and chief were slain back at camp. When he...


Praise for Watcher of the Dead

“Relentless and powerful. This is damned good stuff.” —Glen Cook, bestselling author of the Black Company series on the Sword of Shadows series

“An atmosphere of rising tension and dark foreboding.” —Library Journal on A Cavern of Black Ice

“A main course of fine ingredients prepared with considerable skill.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review, on A Fortress of Grey Ice

“Outstandingly rendered. ” —Booklist on A Sword from Red Ice

“Wonderful…J. V . Jones is a striking writer.” —Robert Jordan

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

J. V. Jones

J. V. JONES is the bestselling author of the Book of Secrets trilogy, and three previous novels in the Sword of Shadows. Originally from Liverpool, England, Jones splits her time between San Diego, California, and Saratoga Springs, New York.

J. V. Jones



    Latest on Facebook


    From the Publisher

    Tor Fantasy

    Latest on Facebook