Spent

Joe Matt

Drawn and Quarterly

1897299117

9781897299111

120 Pages

$19.95

CAD0.00

Request Desk Copy Request Exam Copy

Meet the original antihero Joe Matt: a master of a domain that includes more than twenty-three self-edited eight-hour-long videotapes of bootlegged pornography; a penny-pincher who never fails to make a dime off his friends; a chronic masturbator who doesn't understand why he never has a girlfriend; an obsessive collector frantically searching for the toys of his childhood; a callous son who throws out every gift his adoring mother gives him; a man so lazy that he urinates in a bottle rather than walk to the bathroom.

Everyone and everything is fodder for Matt's autobiographical comics, even having lost the love of his life for documenting his crush on her best friend in the pages of his legendary comic book series Peepshow. Matt's biggest target for ridicule, however, is himself. Wearing his neuroses and fetishes on his sleeve, he knows he is a jerk and does nothing to hide it. This humiliating honesty has made Matt a comedic genius who has been hilariously and shamelessly chronicling his pathetic existence for close to twenty years.

REVIEWS

Praise for Spent

"It's not uncommon now for readers of literature to admire . . . Joe Matt with a partisan vigor formerly reserved for renegades like Kurt Vonnegut and Richard Brautigan."Rick Moody, The New York Times Book Review

"[Joe Matt] chronicles his life in hilarious, unsparing detail."Rolling Stone

"After a long absence, Matt returns in all his absurdly conflicted, tortured glory. In the tradition of Bukowski and R. Crumb, his tale turns on his disgust with himself and all of humanity, and, like the greats, Matt entertains as he cringes. His paradoxically clean and cheerful art is as likable as his persona is unlikable in this tale of avarice, obsession and masturbation. The episodic story begins in a bookstore, where Matt swoops in on a book he knows his friend, fellow cartoonist Seth, would love; Matt buys the book and then sells it to Seth at an obscene markup. The action moves on to Matt's latest porn purchases, then stops by a coffee shop, where the author chews over his shortcomings with a third member of their cartoonist gang, Chester. Interposed are memories of childhood and scenes from Matt's room in a boarding house, where his laziness and disgust with his fellow humans lead him to urinate in the largest jars he can find in order to avoid using the communal bathroom. The title indicates that Matt's well aware of his entrenched personal issues—but this self-awareness never translates to any kind of epiphany or behavioral change."—Publishers Weekly

Reviews from Goodreads

BACK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

  • Joe Matt

  • Joe Matt was born in Philadelphia and now lives in Los Angeles. He is the author of Peepshow: The Cartoon Diary of Joe Matt, The Poor Bastard, and Fair Weather.

BACK