Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

The Four-Story Mistake

Melendy Quartet (Volume 2)

Author: Elizabeth Enright; Illustrated by the author

The Four-Story Mistake

The Four-Story Mistake


About This Book

The second book in Elizabeth Enright's Melendy Quartet, in which the Melendys move from their New York City brownstone to the country.

Page Count
On Sale
Age Range

Book Details

Into the Four-Story Mistake, an odd-looking house with a confused architectural history, move the Melendy family -- Mona, Rush, Randy, Oliver, Father, and Cuffy, the housekeeper. Though disappointed about leaving their old brownstone in New York City, and apprehensive about living the country life, the four Melendy kids soon settle into this unusual new home. Here, they become absorbed in the adventures of the country, adjusting themselves with all their accustomed resourcefulness and discovering the many hidden attractions that the Four-Story Mistake has to offer.

The Four-Story Mistake is the second installment of Enright's Melendy Quartet, an engaging and warm series about the close-knit Melendy family and their surprising adventures.

Imprint Publisher

Square Fish



In The News

“The Melendys are the quintessential storybook family...[their] ardent approach to living is eternally relevant.” —Publishers Weekly

About the Creators

The Four-Story Mistake

The Four-Story Mistake