Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Silver Branch

The Silver Branch

The Roman Britain Trilogy (Volume 2)

Rosemary Sutcliff

Square Fish


Violence and unrest are sweeping through Roman Britain. Justin and Flavius find themselves caught up in the middle of it all when they discover a plot to overthrow the Emperor. In fear for their lives, they gather together a tattered band of men and lead them into the thick of battle, to defend the honor of Rome. But will they be in time to save the Emperor . . .

Carnegie Medal

The Saxon Shore
On a blustery autumn day a galley was nosing up the wide loop of a British river that widened into the harbour of Rutupiae.

The tide was low, and the mud-banks at either hand that would be covered at high tide were...

Praise for The Silver Branch

“Rosemary Sutcliff's superb historical imagination never fails.” —The New York Herald Tribune

“Enthusiastically recommended.” —The Horn Book

“She writes as though Roman Britain were as real and as close to her as the England of today.” —The Chicago Tribune


Reviews from Goodreads

Rosemary Sutcliff

Rosemary Sutcliff (1920-1992) wrote dozens of books for young readers, including her award-winning Roman Britain trilogy, The Eagle of the Ninth, The Silver Branch, and The Lantern Bearers, which won the Carnegie Medal. The Eagle of the Ninth is now a major motion picture, The Eagle, directed by Kevin MacDonald and starring Channing Tatum. Born in Surrey, Sutcliff spent her childhood in Malta and on various other naval bases where her father was stationed. At a young age, she contracted Still's Disease, which confined her to a wheelchair for most of her life. Shortly before her death, she was named Commander of the British Empire (CBE) one of Britain's most prestigious honors. She died in West Sussex, England, in 1992.

Square Fish

Latest on Facebook