Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Beautiful Broken Girls

Beautiful Broken Girls

Kim Savage

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)


Remember the places you touched me.

Ben touched seven parts of Mira Cillo: her palm, hair, chest, cheek, lips, throat, and heart. It was the last one that broke her. After Mira's death, she sends Ben on a quest to find notes she left him in the seven places where they touched—notes that explain why she and her sister, Francesca, drowned themselves in the quarry lake. How Ben interprets those notes has everything to do with the way he was touched by a bad coach years ago. But the truth behind the girls’ suicides is far more complicated, involving a dangerous infatuation, a deadly miracle, and a crushing lie. BEAUTIFUL BROKEN GIRLS is a stunning release from Kim Savage, the author of the critically acclaimed After the Woods.

Kirkus Best Teen Books of the Year





Mira’s letter arrived seven days after she died.

Mira. Was. Alive.

The idea hit Ben like a punch to the...

Praise for Beautiful Broken Girls

“Told through both Ben's and the girls' perspectives, the mystery unfolds with aching precision—both Ben's grief and the sisters' pain can be acutely traced as they grow. Even though the truth can be seen before it's revealed, the girls' secrets pack a gut punch that lingers. Haunting and mesmerizing.” —Kirkus, starred review

“Savage’s skillful writing makes the characters’ pain deep and tangible, offering readers the full impact of the deaths on the town. The novel is cleverly divided into chapters of the seven body parts, propelling the search for the next clue. Prepare to be shocked, and have plenty of tissues handy. Perfect for readers of Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why (2007).” —Booklist

"Readers who enjoy mysteries with a mix of inexplicable and all-too-human underpinnings will enjoy this." —Bulleting for the Center of Children's Books

“Readers looking for a unique, haunting mystery will certainly be drawn to this heartbreaking tale.” —VOYA

Kim Savage

Kim Savage is the author of the critically acclaimed After the Woods. She was born in Quincy, Massachusetts and received her master's degree in Journalism from Northeastern University. She lives with her husband and three children north of Boston.

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Latest on Facebook