Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Rising Like a Storm

Rising Like a Storm

The Wrath of Ambar (Volume 2)

Tanaz Bhathena

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)


In the concluding installment to the Wrath of Ambar duology from masterful author Tanaz Bhathena, Gul and Cavas must unite their magical forces—and hold onto their growing romance—to save their kingdom from tyranny.

With King Lohar dead and a usurper queen in power, Gul and Cavas face a new tyrannical government that is bent on killing them both. Their roles in King Lohar's death have not gone unnoticed, and the new queen is out for blood. What she doesn't know is that Gul and Cavas have a connection that runs deeper than romance, and together, they just might have the strength and magic to end her for good.

Then a grave mistake ends with Cavas taken prisoner by the government. Gul must train an army of warriors alone. With alliances shifting and the thirst for vengeance growing, the fate of Ambar seems ever more uncertain. It will take every ounce of strength, love, and sacrifice for Gul and Cavas to reach their final goal—and build a more just world than they've ever known.

Reviews from Goodreads

Tanaz Bhathena

TANAZ BHATHENA is the author of Hunted by the Sky, the first book in the Wrath of Ambar duology. She is also the author of The Beauty of the Moment, as well as the critically acclaimed A Girl Like That, which received two starred reviews and was shortlisted for the Ontario Library Association White Pine Award, a Globe and Mail Top 100 Book, a Quill & Quire Book of the Year, a Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book for Teens, and a New York Public Library Notable Best Book for Teens. Tanaz lives in Mississauga, Ontario, with her family.

image of Tanaz Bhathenao
Annette Seip, Nettie Photography

Read Author Interview at Book Riot

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Latest on Facebook