Book details

Love Somebody

Author: Rachel Roasek

Love Somebody

Love Somebody

$17.99

About This Book

A sparkling YA debut rom-com about a popular high-school girl, her ex-boyfriend-turned-best-friend, and the girl they both fall for—perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli or Casey McQuiston.

Page Count
368
Genre
On Sale
01/11/2022

Book Details

A sparkling YA debut rom-com about a popular high-school girl, her ex-boyfriend-turned-best-friend, and the girl they both fall for—perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli or Casey McQuiston.

Sam Dickson is a charismatic actress, ambitious and popular with big plans for her future. Ros Shew is one of the smartest people in school—but she’s a loner, and prefers to keep it that way. Then there’s Christian Powell, the darling of the high school soccer team. He’s not the best with communication, which is why he and Sam broke up after dating for six months; but he makes up for it by being genuine, effusive, and kind, which is why they’re still best friends.

When Christian falls for Ros on first sight, their first interaction is a disaster, so he enlists Sam’s help to get through to her. Sam, with motives of her own, agrees to coach Christian from the sidelines on how to soften Ros’s notorious walls. But as Ros starts to suspect Christian is acting differently, and Sam starts to realize the complexity of her own feelings, their fragile relationships threaten to fall apart.

This fresh romantic comedy from debut author Rachel Roasek is a heartfelt story about falling in love—with a partner, with your friends, or just with yourself—and about how maybe, the bravest thing to do in the face of change is just love somebody.

Imprint Publisher

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

ISBN

9780374388966

In The News

“Roasek dives in to the messy, confusing experience of queer adolescence with deep care, tenderness, and clarity. Teens are going to find a home in this book.” —Dahlia Adler, author of Cool for the Summer

“A funny, heartfelt debut with an absolutely swoon-worthy love triangle. Roasek’s writing crackles with wit and authenticity, and Sam, Ros, and Christian will stay with you long after you’ve finished their story.” —Nita Tyndall, award-winning author of Who I Was with Her

“Love Somebody delves into the pressure put on young people to figure out what they want their lives to look like and how the possibilities that social media gives us are not always good while telling a story about love – both platonic and romantic.” —Entertainment Weekly

“The leads are relatable and realistically flawed, and their stories will appeal to fans of character-driven, slice-of-life relationship and coming-of-age novels. A promising debut about love in its many forms.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Thought-provoking . . . An enjoyable romance.” —Publishers Weekly

“This warm and fuzzy story sweetly deals in the complications that come with teenage love, of both the romantic and platonic variety.” —Booklist

About the Creators

Love Somebody

Love Somebody

$17.99