Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Poems, 1965-1975

Poems, 1965-1975

Seamus Heaney

Farrar, Straus and Giroux


Poems, 1965-1975 collects a decade of verse from Seamus Heaney, winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature and the "most important Irish poet since Yeats" (Robert Lowell).

This volume gathers nearly all of the poems from Heaney's first four collections: Death of a Naturalist (1966), Door into the Dark (1969), Wintering Out (1972), and North (1975).

Nobel Prize in Literature, Nobel Prize For Literature

Praise for Poems, 1965-1975

“Heaney is keyed and pitched unlike any significant poet now at work in the language, anywhere.” —Harold Bloom, The Times Literary Supplement

“In 1938, not a moment too soon, W. B. Yeats abmonished his colleagues: 'Irish poets, learn your trade.' Seamus Heaney, born the following year, has learned his trade so well that it is now a second nature wonderfully responsive to his first.” —Denis Donoghue, The New York Times Book Review (front page)

“His is the most striking talent to come out of Ireland since that of the late Patrick Kavanagh.” —Stephen Spender

“Heaney has all the primary gifts of a poet, and they are gifts put at the service of a constant meditation on primary themes, on nature and history and moral choice.” —John Gross, The New York Times

Reviews from Goodreads

Seamus Heaney

Seamus Heaney (1939-2013) received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1995. His poems, plays, translations, and essays include Opened Ground, Electric Light, Beowulf, The Spirit Level, District and Circle, and Finders Keepers. Robert Lowell praised Heaney as the "most important Irish poet since Yeats."

image of Seamus Heaneyo
Photograph by John Minihan. Copyright of University College Cork.

Read Author Bio at Britannica

Read Author Bio at Nobel Prize

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Latest on Facebook