Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Country Girls: Three Novels and an Epilogue

The Country Girls: Three Novels and an Epilogue

(The Country Girl; The Lonely Girl; Girls in Their Married Bliss; Epilogue)

FSG Classics

Edna O'Brien; With a new introduction by Eimear McBride

Farrar, Straus and Giroux


A treasure of world literature back in print, featuring a new introduction by Eimear McBride

The country girls are Caithleen “Kate” Brady and Bridget “Baba” Brennan, and their story begins in the repressive atmosphere of a small village in the west of Ireland in the years following World War II. Kate is a romantic, looking for love; Baba is a survivor. Setting out to conquer the bright lights of Dublin, they are rewarded with comical miscommunications, furtive liaisons, bad faith, bad luck, bad sex, and compromise; marrying for the wrong reasons, betraying for the wrong reasons, fighting in their separate ways against the overwhelming wave of expectations forced upon "girls" of every era.

The Country Girls Trilogy and Epilogue charts unflinchingly the pattern of women’s lives, from the high spirits of youth to the chill of middle age, from hope to despair, in remarkable prose swinging from blunt and brutal to whimsical and lyrical. It is a saga both painful and hilarious, and remains one of the major accomplishments of Edna O’Brien’s extraordinary career.

This omnibus edition includes the novels The Country Girls, The Lonely Girl, and Girls in Their Married Bliss.

Reviews from Goodreads

Edna O'Brien; With a new introduction by Eimear McBride

Edna O’Brien is the author of more than twenty-five books, including The Little Red Chairs. Born in County Clare, Ireland, she now lives in London.

image of Edna O'Brieno
Guardian News and Media Ltd 2015

Edna O'Brien

Read Author Biography at Britannica

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Latest on Facebook