Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
What Dreams May Come

What Dreams May Come

A Novel

Richard Matheson

Tor Books


The New York Times bestseller


What happens to us after we die? Chris Nielsen had no idea, until an unexpected accident cut his life short, separating him from his beloved wife, Annie. Now Chris must discover the true nature of life after death.

But even Heaven is not complete without Annie, and when tragedy threatens to divide them forever, Chris risks his very soul to save Annie from an eternity of despair.

Richard Matheson's powerful tale of life---and love---after death was the basis for the Oscar-winning film starring Robin Williams.

"BEGIN AT THE BEGINNING" IS THE PHRASE. I CANNOT DO THAT. I begin at the end—the conclusion of my life on earth. I present it to you as it happened—and what happened afterward.
A note about the text. You have read my writing, Robert. This...

Praise for What Dreams May Come

“Richard Matheson is worth our time, attention, and great affection.” —Ray Bradbury -

Reviews from Goodreads

Richard Matheson

Richard Matheson (1926-2013) was The New York Times bestselling author of I Am Legend, Hell House, Somewhere in Time, The Incredible Shrinking Man, Now You See It…, and What Dreams May Come, among others. He was named a Grand Master of Horror by the World Horror Convention, and received the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement. He has also won the Edgar, the Spur, and the Writer's Guild awards. In 2010, he was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame. In addition to his novels Matheson wrote several screenplays for movies and TV, including several Twilight Zone episodes.

image of Richard Mathesono
Beth Gwinn

Richard Matheson

Tor Books

Latest on Facebook