Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Dead Don't Lie

The Dead Don't Lie

An Abe Lieberman Mystery

Abe Lieberman (Volume 10)

Stuart M. Kaminsky

Forge Books


The Dead Don't Lie is the latest in Edgar Award winner and MWA's Grand Master Stuart Kaminsky's Abe Lieberman mystery series. Lieberman and his partner, Bill Hanrahan, are hell or heaven bent on making the mean streets of Chicago just a little safer.

As usual they have their hands full. Three prominent members of the Turkish community are all brutally murdered and Lieberman must find out what, if anything, ties these murders together. It doesn't help that the key to the puzzle might be an event that took place over a century ago.

Bill Hanrahan finds himself assigned to a case where a hospitalized chef claims to have been beaten by two people and shot by a third, a bespectacled Chinese man. As Bill digs deeper he finds himself at odds with an old nemesis, a man who has an unusual affinity for Bill's wife.

Both Lieberman and Hanrahan struggle to do the right thing even if it means bending the letter, not the spirit, of the law.

Dead Don't Lie

Ankara, Turkey, 1915

Aziz Akan was deaf in his right ear and blind in his left eye.
Both the deafness and blindness were the result of a bomb dropped two years earlier on a cave just...

Praise for The Dead Don't Lie

“Kaminsky is the pre-eminent living writer of police procedurals.” —Kirkus Reviews on Terror Town

“Managing to be genuinely scary when describes urban crime, Kaminsky also is blessed with a subtle irony about his character.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Terror Town

“Jam-packed with the stuff of good crime fiction-character, style, place, recognizable human conflict.” —The Washington Post on The Big Silence

“Perhaps it is time to declare award-winning Stuart Kaminsky as the reigning monarch of excellent detective series.” —Midwest Book Review

“Stuart Kaminsky is hard to beat for a thoughtful, well-plotted, well-written mystery.” —The Washington Post Book World

“Kaminsky has the pro's knack of combining quirky people, succinct descriptions, an eye for detail, and dark humor to produce entertainment at its best.” —Chicago Sun-Times


Reviews from Goodreads

Stuart M. Kaminsky

Stuart M. Kaminsky is a MWA Grand Master, as well as an Edgar Award-winning author. His series include the Lew Fonesca, Inspector Rostnikov, Toby Peters, and the Abe Lieberman mysteries. He lives with his family in Sarasota, Florida.

image of Stuart M. Kaminskyo
Jean-Luc Vallet

Stuart M. Kaminsky


    Latest on Facebook


    Forge Books

    Latest on Facebook