Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Clockwork Sky, Volume One, The

Clockwork Sky, Volume One, The

Clockwork Sky (Volume 1)

Madeleine Rosca; Illustrated by the Author

Tor Books

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

From the award-winning creator of Hollow Fields comes the start of an all new, steampunk adventure trilogy!

London, 1895: Riots in the streets!

Erasmus Croach's miraculous factory, Ember, has flooded London with steampowered automatons. The already suffering working class take to the streets to protest the jobs lost to these machines, and to quell the riot, Captain Thorn of Scotland Yard calls in Ember's latest and greatest creation, the automatic police boy, Sky!

Meanwhile, Sally Peppers, Croach's headstrong and brilliant niece, dreams of a life beyond manners and marriageability. When she escapes her overbearing governess on a motorized velocipede and joins a no-rules road rally through the slums, Croach sends Sky to bring her back, preferably alive.
Together, the impulsive Sally and the naive Sky crash headlong into a mystery involving rogue automatons prowling the sewers, children disappearing without a trace, and a dark secret so big it could overturn all of London. But the biggest mystery of all is why Sky is the first robot who can dream....

Reviews

Praise for Clockwork Sky, Volume One, The

“Rosca's smart-looking artwork is as good--if not better--than the artwork in many series, employing the visual tropes of shonen manga to tell a story that would resonate equally with Frances Hodgson Burnett and Hayao Miyazaki fans.” —Pop Culture Shock on Hollow Fields

“A rich fantasy of fertile imagination that will appeal to fans of Harry Potter and Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events.” —ACTIVEANIME.COM on Hollow Fields

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Madeleine Rosca; Illustrated by the Author

MADELEINE ROSCA debuted as a manga creator in 2007 with her three-volume series Hollow Fields, which won an award from Japan's foreign ministry for best international manga and was nominated for best graphic novel in the Aurealis Awards for Australian Science Fiction and Fantasy. Rosca was nominated for a best new talent award by Friends of Lulu. She lives and works in Hobart, Tasmania, with her husband and cat.

Madeleine Rosca

From the Publisher

Tor Books

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER