Book details

Shattered Pillars

The Eternal Sky (Volume 2)

Author: Elizabeth Bear

Shattered Pillars

Shattered Pillars

$23.99

About This Book

"[A] vivid world...The strong setting and engaging characters will have readers eager for the second installment."—Publishers Weekly
Page Count
336
Genre
On Sale
01/27/2015

Book Details

Shattered Pillars is the second book of Bear's The Eternal Sky trilogy and the sequel to Range of Ghosts. Set in a world drawn from our own great Asian Steppes, this saga of magic, politics, and war sets Re-Temur, the exiled heir to the great Khagan and his friend Sarmarkar, a Wizard of Tsarepheth, against dark forces determined to conquer all the great Empires along the Celedon Road.

Elizabeth Bear is an astonishing writer, whose prose draws you into strange and wonderful worlds, and makes you care deeply about the people and the stories she tells. The world of The Eternal Sky is broadly and deeply created.

The Eternal Sky Trilogy
#1 Range of Ghosts
#2 Shattered Pillars
#3 Steles of the Sky

Imprint Publisher

Tor Books

ISBN

9780765379641

In The News

Book Riot's List of 50 Best Epic Fantasy Series, Eternal Sky trilogy

“Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should welcome this gracefully told tale of war, political intrigue, and personal drama. Highly recommended.” —Library Journal on Range of Ghosts

“The world of The Eternal Sky is a gorgeously fleshed-out one, and the characters without exception fascinating, sometimes maddening, and complex. This is a pleasing conclusion to an epic; it ties up the major threads but leaves many open questions about how the world will move forward.” —Booklist on Steles of the Sky

“This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it.... Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on Range of Ghosts

“Bear's trilogy makes a rich contribution to epic fantasy's expanding borders of emotion and invention.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Steles of the Sky

About the Creators

Shattered Pillars

Shattered Pillars

$23.99