Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Willful Child: The Search for Spark

Willful Child: The Search for Spark

Willful Child (Volume 3)

Steven Erikson

Tor Books


The New York Times bestselling author of the acclaimed Malazan Book of the Fallen series, continues his hilarious science fiction series--parodying and paying homage to exploring the final frontier--with Willful Child: The Search for Spark.

These are the adventures of the starship A.S.F. Willful Child. Its ongoing mission: to seek out strange new worlds on which to plant the Terran flag, to subjugate and if necessary obliterate new life-forms.

We join the not terribly bright but exceedingly cocksure Captain Hadrian Sawback and his motley crew on board the Starship Willful Child for a series of devil-may-care, near-calamitous and downright chaotic adventures through the infinite vastness of interstellar space.

Steven Erikson has taken his lifelong passion for Star Trek and transformed it into a smart, inventive, and hugely entertaining spoof on the whole overblown mankind-exploring-space-for-the-good-of-all-species-but-trashing-stuff-with-a-lot-of-high-tech-gadgets-along-the-way adventure. The result is a novel that deftly parodies the genre while also paying fond homage to it.


Deeply in the deepest depths of deep space …

Captain Tiberius Alex Razorback stepped onto the bridge of the Wanton Child. Lights blinked, components hummed and clicked, lenses flared, and something...

Praise for Willful Child: The Search for Spark

Willful Child is a love letter to Star Trek and its fans—a pitch-perfect tour de force.”—Robert J. Sawyer, Hugo Award-winning author of Red Planet Blues

“Cleverly written and brilliantly funny with a charming, handsome—and self-absorbed—hero at the center of the story.... With an imaginative plot, plenty of action and a lively pace, Willful Child and Erikson do not disappoint.”—RT Book Reviews

Willful Child is a gloriously snarky send-up of Star Trek, a hilarious chronicle of either a mad genius or a cunning egomaniac and a space opera that covers all the usual galactic bases with wit and charm....”—San Jose Mercury News


Reviews from Goodreads

Steven Erikson

Steven Erikson is an archaeologist and anthropologist and a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop. His Malazan Book of the Fallen series, including The Crippled God, Dust of Dreams, Toll the Hounds, and Reaper's Gale, have met with widespread international acclaim and established him as a major voice in the world of fantasy fiction. The first book in the series, Gardens of the Moon, was shortlisted for a World Fantasy Award. The second novel, Deadhouse Gates, was voted one of the ten best fantasy novels of 2000 by SF Site. He lives in Canada.

Author's Other Website

Tor Books

Latest on Facebook