Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Inch by Inch

Inch by Inch

Book Two Step by Step

Step by Step (Volume 2)

Morgan Llywelyn

Tor Books


Bestselling author Morgan Llywelyn continues her near-future, apocalyptic thriller trilogy with her signature depth and intimacy of character.

In Inch by Inch, book two in the trilogy, the residents of Sycamore River have only just adjusted to the end of the Change. Until the morning people notice that metal starts to behave oddly.

It's dissolving.

The world is pushed into global war, and a small band of Sycamore River survivors only have one another. They have to survive the unthinkable.

Step by Step
Drop by Drop

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.


The patrons of Bill’s Bar and Grill stared in astonishment at the stocky figure of Morris Saddlethwaite. He stood in the front doorway waving one arm; his normally florid face was ashen. The sleeve of his jacket was thickly smeared...

Praise for Inch by Inch

"Ms. Llywelyn's command of language is exquisite."—SFRevu on Only the Stones Survive

"Her prose is by turns reflective, lyrical, and stalwart."—Publishers Weekly

“A timely and gripping novel. . . . The historical characters are woven into a masterful plot.” —The Irish Times on 1916

"The works of Morgan Llywelyn are awe-inspiring."—Jean K. Bills, President and Founder, Celtic Women International on 1949

“A captivating story.”—Kirkus Reviews on 1949


Reviews from Goodreads

Morgan Llywelyn

MORGAN LLYWELYN is the New York Times bestselling author of Lion of Ireland, and an entire body of work chronicling the Celts and Ireland, from the earliest times to the present day. She has won numerous awards for her historical and mythological fiction, which have been translated into many languages. She lives near Dublin, Ireland.

image of Morgan Llywelyno
Michael Scott

Morgan Llywelyn


    Latest on Facebook


    Tor Books

    Latest on Facebook