Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Love Songs & Other Lies

Love Songs & Other Lies

A Novel

Jessica Pennington

Tor Teen

BUY THE BOOK

It's summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you'll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.

Breaking Vee’s heart was never Cam’s plan. All he wanted senior year was a new life, in a new town, uninterrupted by the tragedy he left behind. Then Vee swept him into a whirlwind of friendship, musical adventure, and a love he didn’t expect or want. Now, he has a second chance to make it right. But things get complicated when ratings-crazy producers, cameramen, and fans are involved. Can he rewrite their love song with the whole world watching?

Sometimes the last note is just the beginning. Love Songs & Other Lies is the debut romance from Jessica Pennington that Katie McGarry calls "fun and full of heart with a hero who stole my heart!”

At the Publisher's request, this t… More…

It's summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you'll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.

Breaking Vee’s heart was never Cam’s plan. All he wanted senior year was a new life, in a new town, uninterrupted by the tragedy he left behind. Then Vee swept him into a whirlwind of friendship, musical adventure, and a love he didn’t expect or want. Now, he has a second chance to make it right. But things get complicated when ratings-crazy producers, cameramen, and fans are involved. Can he rewrite their love song with the whole world watching?

Sometimes the last note is just the beginning. Love Songs & Other Lies is the debut romance from Jessica Pennington that Katie McGarry calls "fun and full of heart with a hero who stole my heart!”

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Less…

CHAPTER ONE

NOW


VIRGINIA

It’s black, almost liquid looking, and gleaming in the LA sun, like a sleek, horizontal skyscraper. I’ve only ever seen a tour bus on the highway and I can’t believe how gigantic...

Praise for Love Songs & Other Lies

“Reading Cam & Vee's past and present romance reminds me of This is Us! This is going on my keeper shelf.”—Simone Elkeles, New York Times & USA Today bestselling author

“Fun and full of heart, with a hero who stole my heart!”—Katie McGarry, author of Long Way Home and Pushing the Limits

“Boys in bands, second chance romance, and pitch-perfect chemistry. Love Songs & Other Lies hits all the right notes!”—Gina Ciocca, author of Last Year's Mistake

Love Songs & Other Lies is a music-infused romance about a pair of perfectly imperfect teenagers who will have readers rooting for their happily ever after. Equal parts heartbreaking and hopeful, contemporary young adult fans won’t be able to put this debut down!”—Katy Upperman, author of Kissing Max Holden

“A captivating read and a great pick for fans of Morgan Matson and Emery Lord!”—RT Book Reviews

“Filled with lyrics, love, and late nights, Pennington’s debut novel will appeal to romance fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti.”—School Library Journal

“Set on beaches, stages, and tour buses, Pennington’s debut is a light road-tripping romance about redemption and the love of music.”—Publishers Weekly

"Vee and Cam both make mistakes, but are ultimately good characters worth rooting for. Easy to read and engaging, the music and reality show aspects of the story are fun and add to the romance. Pennington’s debut novel is sure to please readers looking for a fun romance story." — Voya, Jennifer McIntos… More…






“Reading Cam & Vee's past and present romance reminds me of This is Us! This is going on my keeper shelf.”—Simone Elkeles, New York Times & USA Today bestselling author

“Fun and full of heart, with a hero who stole my heart!”—Katie McGarry, author of Long Way Home and Pushing the Limits

“Boys in bands, second chance romance, and pitch-perfect chemistry. Love Songs & Other Lies hits all the right notes!”—Gina Ciocca, author of Last Year's Mistake

Love Songs & Other Lies is a music-infused romance about a pair of perfectly imperfect teenagers who will have readers rooting for their happily ever after. Equal parts heartbreaking and hopeful, contemporary young adult fans won’t be able to put this debut down!”—Katy Upperman, author of Kissing Max Holden

“A captivating read and a great pick for fans of Morgan Matson and Emery Lord!”—RT Book Reviews

“Filled with lyrics, love, and late nights, Pennington’s debut novel will appeal to romance fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti.”—School Library Journal

“Set on beaches, stages, and tour buses, Pennington’s debut is a light road-tripping romance about redemption and the love of music.”—Publishers Weekly

"Vee and Cam both make mistakes, but are ultimately good characters worth rooting for. Easy to read and engaging, the music and reality show aspects of the story are fun and add to the romance. Pennington’s debut novel is sure to please readers looking for a fun romance story." — Voya, Jennifer McIntosh.

Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Jessica Pennington

JESSICA PENNINGTON is no stranger to the combination of love and drama. She’s a wedding planner, after all. Jessica likes the challenge of finding the humor in a sad situation or highlighting the awkwardness in a romantic one. A serial entrepreneur with a BA in Public Relations, Jessica has a passion for grassroots marketing. She lives in a Michigan beach town suspiciously similar to the one in her novel, where she owns more YA novels than many teens and spends most of her time on a laptop, rather than a beach. Love Songs & Other Lies is her debut novel.

Author Spotify Playlists

Tor Teen

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER