Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Bright Star

Bright Star

Erin Swan

Tor Teen

BUY THE BOOK

Erin Swan's YA fantasy debut, Bright Star, is an action-packed adventure tale of rebellion, romance, and finding one's voice in the heart of a storm.

Paerolia has been at peace for two centuries, and all is well in the land—or so it seems. Beneath the surface, a tyrant is rising to power.

A traumatic experience in Andra's childhood has left her mute and subdued, a servant in the Chief Judge’s manor. But when an assassination team, led by the secretive and alluring Kael, infiltrates the manor and makes a quick escape, she takes her chance and flees with them.

Andra is thrust into the ranks of a secret rebellion—a group of outcasts and believers seeking to overthrow the Chief Judge and replace the corrupt government with new members, ones who will restore and preserve the land they love. Now, the girl who was once an outcast must somehow become the leader Paerolia needs. But she is stronger than she believes—and with the help of a fiercely loyal dragon, she may just be the one to lead them all to victory.

1

The Choosing


Andra shrank deeper into the alcove, biting her lip as the young, sandy-haired man beside her peered out from their hiding place, his blue eyes alight, cheeks flushed. Her heart hammered in her ears,...

Praise for Bright Star

"The book’s fierce protagonist and vivid action will make it a solid read for young fans of the genre." —Booklist

"Swan depicts a society in transition with undercurrents of feminism, racism, and oppression in a dynamic world blended with the pragmatic and the magical. VERDICT Recommended for fans of Rachel Hartman’s “Seraphina” series and Leigh Bardugo’s “Shadow and Bone” trilogy." —School Library Journal

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Erin Swan

ERIN SWAN was born in a small farm town in Oregon, and spent her childhood on United States Air Force bases around the world. A graduate of Brigham Young University, Erin lives with her husband in Utah, where she works as a marketing copywriter and a novelist. Bright Star is her debut novel.

image of Erin Swano
Lauren Pollock

Tor Teen

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER