Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Ship of Smoke and Steel

Ship of Smoke and Steel

The Wells of Sorcery Trilogy (Volume 1)

Django Wexler

Tor Teen

BUY THE BOOK

“Fit for the big screen.” —Morgan Rhodes, NYT bestselling author of Falling Kingdoms

Ship of Smoke and Steel is the launch of a cinematic, action-packed epic fantasy trilogy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and The Legend of Korra.

In the lower wards of Kahnzoka, the great port city of the Blessed Empire, eighteen-year-old ward boss Isoka comes to collect when there's money owing. When her ability to access the Well of Combat is discovered by the Empire—an ability she should have declared and placed at His Imperial Majesty's service—she's sent on an impossible mission: steal Soliton, a legendary ghost ship—a ship from which no one has ever returned. If she fails, her sister’s life is forfeit.

“Truly epic, fierce, and exhilarating, Ship of Smoke and Steel will capture you and lock you away. With magical combat sequences fit for the big screen, the action is almost as breathtaking as the intrigue.” —Morgan Rhodes, New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series

Praise for Ship of Smoke and Steel

Praise for Django Wexler's previous works:
“A standout.... There’s no time like the present to lose oneself in the military and political struggles of the Vordanai Empire.” —Fonda Lee, authorof Exo, for LibraryJournal.com, on The Shadow Campaigns series

“Warning: You'll probably be hooked on Wexler's insane 'flintlock fantasy' worldbuilding.” —Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky, for io9.com, on “The Penitent Damned”

“Three cheers for a female protagonist who demonstrates strong leadership skills without losing the prospect of love or friendship.” —Kirkus Reviews on The Fall of the Readers

“Audacious and subversive.” —Publishers Weekly on The Shadow Throne

“Suspenseful, emotional, and extremely gratifying.” —Booklist on The Infernal Battalion

“[Wexler] writes women who talk to each other, women who are complicated and real and flawed and sometimes queer and sometimes not; women who feel to me like actual people, their expressions of femininity as nuanced and complex as their relationships.... Wexler is an exceptionally good writer, period.” —Foz Meadows, author of An Accident of Stars and Hugo Award nominee for Best Fan Writer, on The Shadow Throne

“Just as much as the delightful action scenes and the narrative drive and the fantastic approach to magic and blowing [stuff] up, Wexler’s commitment to portraying a wide variety of women matters.” —Liz Bourke, Hugo Award nominee for Best Fan Writer, … More…

Praise for Django Wexler's previous works:
“A standout.... There’s no time like the present to lose oneself in the military and political struggles of the Vordanai Empire.” —Fonda Lee, authorof Exo, for LibraryJournal.com, on The Shadow Campaigns series

“Warning: You'll probably be hooked on Wexler's insane 'flintlock fantasy' worldbuilding.” —Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky, for io9.com, on “The Penitent Damned”

“Three cheers for a female protagonist who demonstrates strong leadership skills without losing the prospect of love or friendship.” —Kirkus Reviews on The Fall of the Readers

“Audacious and subversive.” —Publishers Weekly on The Shadow Throne

“Suspenseful, emotional, and extremely gratifying.” —Booklist on The Infernal Battalion

“[Wexler] writes women who talk to each other, women who are complicated and real and flawed and sometimes queer and sometimes not; women who feel to me like actual people, their expressions of femininity as nuanced and complex as their relationships.... Wexler is an exceptionally good writer, period.” —Foz Meadows, author of An Accident of Stars and Hugo Award nominee for Best Fan Writer, on The Shadow Throne

“Just as much as the delightful action scenes and the narrative drive and the fantastic approach to magic and blowing [stuff] up, Wexler’s commitment to portraying a wide variety of women matters.” —Liz Bourke, Hugo Award nominee for Best Fan Writer, for Tor.com, on The Price of Valor

“Fit for the big screen.” —Baltimore County Public Library’s blog on The Thousand Names

Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Django Wexler

DJANGO WEXLER graduated from Carnegie Mellon University with degrees in creative writing and computer science, worked in artificial intelligence research and as a programmer/writer for Microsoft, and is now a full-time fantasy writer. Django is the author of The Shadow Campaigns, an epic fantasy series for adults, and The Forbidden Library, a classic fantasy series for middle-grade readers.

Tor Teen

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER