Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Impossible Contract

The Impossible Contract

Book 2 in the Chronicles of Ghadid

Chronicles of Ghadid (Volume 2)

K. A. Doore

Tor Books

BUY THE BOOK

The Impossible Contract is the second book in K. A. Doore's high fantasy adventure series the Chronicles of Ghadid, where a determined assassin travels to the heart of the Empire in pursuit of a powerful mark, for fans of Robin Hobb, Sarah J. Maas, and S. A. Chakraborty

Thana has a huge reputation to live up to as daughter of the Serpent, who rules over Ghadid’s secret clan of assassins. Opportunity to prove herself arrives when Thana accepts her first contract on Heru, a dangerous foreign diplomat with the ability to bind a person’s soul under his control.

She may be in over her head, especially when Heru is targeted by a rival sorcerer who sends hordes of the undead to attack them both. When Heru flees, Thana has no choice than to pursue him across the sands to the Empire that intends to capture Ghadid inside its iron grip.

A stranger in a strange city, Thana’s only ally is Mo, a healer who may be too noble for her own good. Meanwhile, otherworldly and political dangers lurk around every corner, and even more sinister plans are uncovered which could lead to worldwide devastation. Can Thana rise to the challenge—even if it means facing off against an ancient evil?

Praise for The Impossible Contract

For The Perfect Assassin

“With a mix of heart and adventure, and set in a wonderfully inventive new world, K.A. Doore’s debut shines.” —S. A. Chakraborty, author of The Kingdom of Copper

The Perfect Assassin is one of those rare books that manages to be both thrilling and tender. It's full of rooftop fights, frightening magic, and nonstop excitement and mystery, while at the same time it's a thought-provoking exploration of what it means to be a monster and the power of love and forgiveness. I absolutely loved it from start to finish!” — Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Queens of Renthia series

“The writing is smooth and the world immersive, the characters lively and distinct; it's queer AF, well-paced and fascinating and political, and grapples with the morality of assassination in a thoughtful and considered way.” —Sam Hawke, Aurealis Award-winning author of City of Lies

“K. A. Doore has crafted a thrilling and poignant tale on the costs of loyalty. In the city of Ghadid, ideas of justice and family battle and braid themselves around each other in action-packed fashion. Part murder mystery, part family saga, part coming-of-age chronicle, The Perfect Assassin intrigues and excites in equal measure.” –Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made of Night

"In a high-flung desert city, a reluctant assassin's choices threaten his family's way of life, those he loves, and, worst of all, the spirits of the dead. Amastan Basbowen's options are… More…

For The Perfect Assassin

“With a mix of heart and adventure, and set in a wonderfully inventive new world, K.A. Doore’s debut shines.” —S. A. Chakraborty, author of The Kingdom of Copper

The Perfect Assassin is one of those rare books that manages to be both thrilling and tender. It's full of rooftop fights, frightening magic, and nonstop excitement and mystery, while at the same time it's a thought-provoking exploration of what it means to be a monster and the power of love and forgiveness. I absolutely loved it from start to finish!” — Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Queens of Renthia series

“The writing is smooth and the world immersive, the characters lively and distinct; it's queer AF, well-paced and fascinating and political, and grapples with the morality of assassination in a thoughtful and considered way.” —Sam Hawke, Aurealis Award-winning author of City of Lies

“K. A. Doore has crafted a thrilling and poignant tale on the costs of loyalty. In the city of Ghadid, ideas of justice and family battle and braid themselves around each other in action-packed fashion. Part murder mystery, part family saga, part coming-of-age chronicle, The Perfect Assassin intrigues and excites in equal measure.” –Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made of Night

"In a high-flung desert city, a reluctant assassin's choices threaten his family's way of life, those he loves, and, worst of all, the spirits of the dead. Amastan Basbowen's options are all dangerous, but he must move forward. The ensuing intrigue forms the core of a highly exciting adventure.” — Fran Wilde, Hugo and Nebula nominated, Andre Norton Award winning author of Updraft

“Set in a world of believable richness, The Perfect Assassin combines a suspenseful plot with a memorable cast of characters, and an assassin protagonist who is compelled to make hard choices.” —Ilana C. Myer, author of Last Song Before Night and Fire Dance

“A bold, original adventure set in a world of enthralling beauty. The Perfect Assassin shimmers with mystery and romance, and with characters whose courage and charisma brighten every page.” — Ausma Zehanat Khan, author of The Bloodprint

“Fascinating world building with all the mystery and appeal of the One Thousand and One Nights.” —Duncan M. Hamilton, author of the Wolf of the North series

Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

K. A. Doore

K. A. DOORE was born in Florida but has since lived in Washington, Arizona, and Germany. She has a BA in Classics and Foreign Languages and an enduring fascination with linguistics. These days she writes fantasy in mid-Michigan and develops online trainings for child welfare professionals. The Impossible Contract is the second novel in the Chronicles of Ghadid trilogy, following her debut The Perfect Assassin.

Read Author Interview at The Illustrated Page

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Tor Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER