Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Hudson's Kill

Hudson's Kill

A Justice Flanagan Thriller

Justice Flanagan (Volume 2)

Paddy Hirsch

Forge Books

BUY THE BOOK

Set in 1803 New York, Hudson's Kill is the riveting next historical thriller from NPR reporter and producer Paddy Hirsch, perfect for fans of The Alienist and Gangs of New York.

New York in 1803 is rife with tension as the city expands, and whoever knows where the city will build can control it. And violence builds as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other.

When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer. They each find their way to a shadowy community on the fringes of the growing city, where they uncover a craven political conspiracy bound up with a criminal enterprise that is stunning in its depravity.

Justy and Kerry have to fight to save themselves and the city, and only then can they bring the girl’s killer to justice.

ONE

Saturday


Kerry O’Toole pushed the big iron key into the brass lock of the African Free School, and jiggled it back and forth. The lock was new and poorly set, and the key needed finessing before it turned properly....

Praise for Hudson's Kill

"Stellar. ... Hirsch makes the most of his setting and has a rich vein of potential future plots to mine. Historical mystery fans will be enthralled." -- Publishers Weekly Starred Review

Praise for The Devil's Half Mile

"A superb historical whodunit. ... Effortlessly incorporates the political and economic background of the time."—Publishers Weekly Starred Review

"A thriller with strong, multifaceted heroes and villains, [and] tight plotting. I impatiently await the next adventure."—Patrick Taylor, New York Times bestselling author of the Irish Country series

"Part thriller, part love story and part cautionary tale, this page-turner also carries intimations of the future.... Vivid [and] exciting."—Mary Pat Kelly, Irish America

"A tense, violent and atmospheric crime thriller set in 1799 when the white-collar criminals carried switchblades and human lives were traded like sacks of grain."—Michael Robotham, award-winning author of Life or Death

"Fast paced and often violently brutal, this tale should please thriller readers who enjoy a twist of history"—Booklist

"A solid choice for historical fiction buffs and lovers of political plots."—Library Journal

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Paddy Hirsch

PADDY HIRSCH is an award-winning journalist and online video host who produces the NPR podcast The Indicator from Planet Money. The author of The Devil's Half Mile came to journalism after serving for eight years as an officer in the British Royal Marines, and lives in Los Angeles. He is also the author of a nonfiction book explaining economics, Man vs. Markets.

Meet the Author

September 21 - November 16, 2019

Meet NPR’s Paddy Hirsch as he discusses Hudson’s Kill, the second novel in his Justice Flanagan series of historical thrillers set in Manhattan in the early days of the United States.

READ THE FULL EXCERPT →

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Forge Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER