Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Water Sleeps

Water Sleeps

A Novel of the Black Company

Chronicles of The Black Company (Volume 10)

Glen Cook

Tor Fantasy


Regrouping in Taglios, the surviving members of the Black Company are determined to free their fellow warriors held in stasis beneath the glittering plain. Journeying there under terrible conditions, they arrive just in time for a magical conflagration in which the bones of the world will be revealed, the history of the Company unveiled, and new world gained and lost...all at a terrible price.

One of the greatest fantasy epics of our age continues in this ninth installment of Glen Cook's Chronicles of the Black Company.


In those days the Black Company did not exist. This I know because there were laws and decrees that told me so. But I did not feel entirely insubstantial.
The Company standard, its Captain and Lieutenant, its Standardbearer...

Praise for Water Sleeps

“Cook's singular talent for combining gritty realism and high fantasy provides a singular edge....Highly recommended.” —Library Journal

“Compelling...Holds to the...standards of previous volumes.” —Publishers Weekly

Reviews from Goodreads

Glen Cook

Born in 1944, Glen Cook grew up in northern California, served in the U.S. Navy, attended the University of Missouri, and was one of the earliest graduates of the well-known "Clarion" workshop SF writers. Since 1971 he has published a large number of SF and fantasy novels, including the "Dread Empire" series, the occult-detective "Garrett" novels, and the very popular "Black Company" sequence that began with the publication of The Black Company in 1984. Among his SF novels is A Passage at Arms.

After working many years for General Motors, Cook now writes full-time. He lives near St. Louis, Missouri, with his wife Carol.

Glen Cook

Tor Fantasy

Latest on Facebook