Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Eagle

The Eagle

The Concluding Volume of The Camulod Chronicles

Camulod Chronicles (Volume 9)

Jack Whyte

Tor Books



Mass Market Paperbound

Beginning with The Skystone, the first in his riveting Camulod Chronicles, Jack Whyte has embarked on an ambitious and remarkable re-telling of the Arthurian cycle, giving us a fresh and compelling take on a story that has been beloved for centuries.

The Eagle brings us at last to the heart of the tale, the creation of fabled Camelot and the love story that enshrined its glory. Whyte takes us into the minds and lives of Arthur, Guinevere, and Lancelot, three astonishing but fallible people who were bound together by honor, loyalty, and love. Three who created the glory that was Britain's shining dream…and, some say, caused its downfall.

The Gaulish nobleman Clothar—known in our time as Lancelot—is drawn to the young High King's court by tales of honor and nobility, where he meets a man whose love of law matches his own. More, he finds in Arthur a life-long friend whose dream of uniting the people of Britain in peace Clothar embraces. And Clothar meets Arthur's queen, a wondrous beauty whose passion and ideals match those of her husband. Together they work to bring Arthur's dream to life.

But dark forces rise in opposition to Arthur's plans for creating this noble island nation and it is hard to tell friend from foe in the swirling chaos that ensues. Many tales have been told of the dream that shined and died. This one will astonish even the most jaded.


Chapter One


The word apparently made no impression on the man to whom I had spoken, so I said it again, raising my voice slightly, despite the absolute silence, to make sure that he could hear me. Again, however, he...


Praise for The Eagle

“As Whyte waves off the fog of fantasy and legend surrounding the Arthurian story, he renders characters and events real and plausible.” —Booklist

“A wonderful, rip-roaring journey down the road to Camelot and King Arthur, the way it really might have been.” —Robert Jordan

“A top-notch Arthurian tale forged to a sharp edge in the fires of historical realism, Whyte focuses even more strongly on a sense of place, carefully setting his characters into their historical landscape, making this series more realistic and believable than nearly any other Arthurian epic.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) on The Singing Sword

“It's one of the most interesting historical novels that I've ever read and I've read plenty.” —Marion Zimmer Bradley on The Skystone

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Jack Whyte

Jack Whyte is a Scots-born, award-winning Canadian author whose poem, "The Faceless One," was featured at the 1991 New York Film Festival. The Camulod Chronicles is his greatest work, a stunning retelling of one of our greatest legends--the making of King Arthur's Britain. He lives in British Columbia, Canada.

Jack Whyte

Bjorn Ewart Photography, Vancouver, Canada



    Latest on Facebook


    From the Publisher

    Tor Books

    Latest on Facebook