Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
All Mortal Flesh

All Mortal Flesh

A Clare Fergusson and Russ Van Alstyne Mystery

Fergusson/Van Alstyne Mysteries (Volume 5)

Julia Spencer-Fleming

Minotaur Books


One horrible murder. Two people destined for love or tragedy. Emotions explode in Millers Kill, where nothing is as it seems . . . and betrayal twists old friendships and evil waits inside quaint farmhouses.

Russ Van Alstyne figures his wife kicking him out of their house is nobody's business but his own. Until a neighbor pays a friendly visit to Linda Van Alstyne and finds the woman's body, gruesomely butchered, on the kitchen floor. To the state police, it's an open-and-shut case of a disaffected husband silencing his wife and putting a stop to the murder investigation he controls. To the townspeople, it's proof that the whispered gossip about the police chief and the priest was true. To the powers-that-be in the church hierarchy, it's a chance to control their wayward cleric once and for all. Russ and Clare must struggle against the reach of the law, the authority of the church, and their own guilty hearts.

Anthony Awards - Nominee, Macavity Award - Nominee, Agatha Awards - Nominee

Chapter One

Monday, January 14

Midway this way of life we're bound upon, I woke to find myself in a dark wood, where the right road was wholly lost and gone.

Clare smelled the smoke first. She came to...

Praise for All Mortal Flesh

“Easily the best yet in what was already an amazing series. . . . Subtle, intense, tough, tender, intelligent--a definite must-read and an automatic book of the year.” —Lee Child

“In a story as unpredictable as its characters, the resolution takes this series in a direction that should give the good bishop heart palpitations.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Intricately plotted and packs plenty of unexpected surprises . . . and a gutsy ending.” —The Boston Globe

“Her most captivating yet . . . Fans, once they start reading, will hang Do Not Disturb signs on their doors.” —Publishers Weekly

“The compelling characters bring to life this riveting installment that's quite possibly the best in the series.” —RT Book Reviews


Reviews from Goodreads

Julia Spencer-Fleming

JULIA SPENCER-FLEMING is an Agatha, Anthony, Barry, Dilys, Gumshoe and Macavity Award winner. Her books have been shortlisted for the Edgar, and Romantic Times RC awards. The Clare Fergusson and Russ Van Alstyne mysteries include the multiple award-winning books In the Bleak Midwinter (first in the series) and All Mortal Flesh. Julia lives in southern Maine.

image of Julia Spencer-Flemingo
Sara Brown



    Latest on Facebook


    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook