Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Snobbery with Violence

Snobbery with Violence

An Edwardian Murder Mystery

Edwardian Murder Mysteries (Volume 1)

M. C. Beaton

Minotaur Books


When a marriage proposal appears imminent for the beautiful -- if rebellious -- Lady Rose Summer, her father wants to know if her suitor's intentions are honorable. He calls on Captain Harry Cathcart, the impoverished younger son of a baron, to do some intelligence work on the would-be fiancee, Sir Geoffrey Blandon.

After his success in uncovering Geoffrey's dishonorable motives, Harry fashions a career out of "fixing" things for wealthy aristocrats. So when the Marquess of Hedley finds one of his guests dead at a lavish house party, he knows just the man to call.

But when Harry is caught between his client's desire for discretion and his suspicion that murder may indeed have been committed, he enlists the help of Superintendent Kerridge of the Scotland Yard and Lady Rose, also a guest at Lord Hedley's.

Set in Britain and the Edwardian world of parties, servants, and scandal, M. C. Beaton's Snobbery with Violence is a delightful combination of murderous intrigue and high society.

All the world over, I will back the masses against the classes.


Unlike White's or Brooks's, it was simply known as The Club, lodged in a Georgian building at the bottom...

Praise for Snobbery with Violence

“A sparkling new Edwardian series...Fans of the author's Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth series should welcome this tale of aristocrats, house parties, servants and murder.” —Publishers Weekly

“Old hand Chesney maintains her charm and sassiness while indicting evergreen pomposity and class-status stupidity.” —Kirkus

“A delightful costume melodrama, featuring wry humor and sleuthing protagonists with a pesky/love hate relationship. An easy go for most mystery collections.” —Library Journal

“Murder and mayhem abound at an Edwardian house party in this debut installment of a promising new mystery series.” —Booklist


Reviews from Goodreads

M. C. Beaton

M. C. Beaton (1936-2019), the “Queen of Crime” (The Globe and Mail), was the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Agatha Raisin novels -- the basis for the hit show on Acorn TV and public television -- as well as the Hamish Macbeth series and the Edwardian Murder Mysteries featuring Lady Rose Summer. Born in Scotland, she started her career writing historical romances under several pseudonyms and her maiden name, Marion Chesney.

In 2006, M.C. was the British guest of honor at Bouchercon.

image of M. C. Beatono
Louise Bowles Photography



    Latest on Facebook


    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook