Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Believe No One

Believe No One

A Thriller

A.D. Garrett

Minotaur Books

BUY THE BOOK

Detective Chief Inspector Kate Simms is in the United States on sabbatical with St Louis PD. She is working with a 'method swap' team, reviewing cold cases, sharing expertise. Simms came to the US to escape fallout from her previous investigation working with forensic expert Professor Nick Fennimore. However Fennimore also happens to be in the States on a book tour and is engineering his trip to get down to St Louis - the last thing Simms wants . . .

But a call for help from a sheriff's deputy in Oklahoma distracts the professor: a mother dead, her child gone. Fennimore's quick mind rapidly gets to work, and gradually draws the conclusion this might not an isolated case. How many other young mothers have been killed, their murders unsolved, their children unaccounted for - and what of Simms' cold case in St Louis for instance?

In Believe No One, A. D. Garrett delivers a gripping sequel to match Everyone Lies, where the chills race in the heat in America's mid-West. And once again the tension rises to match the climbing temperature between the dynamic pairing of Simms and Fennimore.

Praise for Believe No One

“This book is pure crime thriller, with a narrative that will perfectly describe the work of the investigators, the killer, and even the young boy who is in the killer’s sights and is on the run....This complex plot with terrific characters is a fantastic collaboration between two very talented people: Margaret Murphy, thriller writer; and forensic scientist, Professor Dave Barclay. It will be interesting to see what comes next from A.D. Garrett.” —Suspense Magazine

“The two authors writing as Garrett evoke not only the suspense of serial killings, but an emotional triangle and a tantalizingly unresolved crime that keep the pages flying.” —Kirkus Reviews

On Everyone Lies
Awesome. . . . What A. D. Garrett doesn't understand about forensic science and its applications isn't worth knowing. Ditto characterisation, plot and pace. A sterling debut.” —Mo Hayder

“A pulse pounding thriller, which weaves expertly between evil on the streets and the dark side of police department politics. A. D. Garrett has done for Manchester what The Wire did for Baltimore. . . . Simms and Fennimore are complex, compelling and just plain marvelous.” —Jeffery Deaver

“This is thriller writing at its best: prose that's startling in its pace and clarity, characters who come to life immediately and the bonus of knowing that all the forensic details are entirely accurate.” —Ann Cleeves

“[An] outstanding collaborative debut, which balances the intricacies of forensics with the cereb… More…


“This book is pure crime thriller, with a narrative that will perfectly describe the work of the investigators, the killer, and even the young boy who is in the killer’s sights and is on the run....This complex plot with terrific characters is a fantastic collaboration between two very talented people: Margaret Murphy, thriller writer; and forensic scientist, Professor Dave Barclay. It will be interesting to see what comes next from A.D. Garrett.” —Suspense Magazine

“The two authors writing as Garrett evoke not only the suspense of serial killings, but an emotional triangle and a tantalizingly unresolved crime that keep the pages flying.” —Kirkus Reviews

On Everyone Lies
Awesome. . . . What A. D. Garrett doesn't understand about forensic science and its applications isn't worth knowing. Ditto characterisation, plot and pace. A sterling debut.” —Mo Hayder

“A pulse pounding thriller, which weaves expertly between evil on the streets and the dark side of police department politics. A. D. Garrett has done for Manchester what The Wire did for Baltimore. . . . Simms and Fennimore are complex, compelling and just plain marvelous.” —Jeffery Deaver

“This is thriller writing at its best: prose that's startling in its pace and clarity, characters who come to life immediately and the bonus of knowing that all the forensic details are entirely accurate.” —Ann Cleeves

“[An] outstanding collaborative debut, which balances the intricacies of forensics with the cerebral instincts of crime investigation.” —Publishers Weekly

“The backstory between Fennimore and Simms is tantalizingly glossed over, adding tension to the story. . . . This gritty British thriller will appeal to fans of Ken Bruen and Val McDermid.” —Booklist

Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

A.D. Garrett

A. D. GARRETT is the pseudonym for the writing collaboration of prize-winning thriller writer Margaret Murphy and forensic scientist Professor Dave Barclay. Margaret Murphy is the author of nine psychological thrillers. She lectures on writing and is a former Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow. Professor Barclay is a world renowned forensics expert and senior lecturer in forensic science at Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen.

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER