Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Burnt River

Burnt River

A Mystery

Macy Greeley Mysteries (Volume 2)

Karin Salvalaggio

Minotaur Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Hardcover

When Detective Macy Greeley is called to Wilmington Creek, a sleepy ranching community in northern Montana, she expects an open-and-shut, if high-profile, murder case. What greets her is anything but. John Dalton, a soldier returned home from serving in Afghanistan, has been shot dead in an alleyway outside a local bar. Macy can't see any obvious motive for the attack, but John's closest friends and his twin sister, Jessie, have been keeping secrets.

With a series of wildfires pushing the area's resources to the limit and Darby Lake's water level dropping to a record low, Jessie is becoming increasingly anxious about what may be uncovered if the rains don't return to the valley soon. Haunted by what's hidden beneath the still waters, she doesn't know whether to help or hinder Macy's investigation. And Macy herself is increasingly uneasy about what she discovers as she navigates the politics of a small town and the Dalton family clan, as well as her own complicated relationship with the father of her young son.

Macy Greeley returns in another taut and intimate mystery from acclaimed Bone Dust White author Karin Salvalaggio.

EXCERPT

1



The sun crept above the low hills, marking the eastern slopes of the wide valley. Granite boulders the size of houses glowed ghostly white and steam rose from the forested hills of monochrome pine. The Flathead River ran silver in...

Reviews

Praise for Burnt River

“Salvalaggio, whose Bone Dust White debut novel won high acclaim last year, tops even that effort in Burnt River, which combines spare but gripping prose, well-conceived and well-executed characters and a dark storyline that delivers multiple shocks.” —The Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Salvalaggio is a stunning new voice in crime fiction, and her heroine Detective Macy Greeley is the kind of tough and complex character that I can't wait to see more of.” —Deborah Crombie

“This complicated, peel-away-layers debut procedural intoxicates from the opening page and has word-of-mouth selling power... Recommend for fans of Archer Mayor, Gwen Florio, and Craig Johnson. C.J. Box's The Highway comes to mind, too.” —Library Journal (starred review, Debut of the Month)

“Salvalaggio's characters and the landscape of their lives are astutely drawn.” —Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel

“Salvalaggio's debut deftly intertwines a town without a future and citizens without hope, people in need and people who need to be needed, and a new murder that brings closure to four unsolved cases.” —Kirkus Reviews

“As jarring as a headfirst plunge in an icy river, Bone Dust White is a stark and unforgettable reading experience; its ambience, like the bruised people whose twisted lives it traces, is chilly–and irresistible.” —Julia Keller, Pulitzer Prize-winner and author of Bitter River

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Karin Salvalaggio

KARIN SALVALAGGIO received an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck at the University of London. Born in West Virginia and raised in an Air Force family, she grew up on a number of military bases around the United States. She now lives in London with her two children. Burnt River is her second novel.

Karin Salvalaggio

Mat Smith Photography

Community

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER