Book details

Grandmaster

A Novel

Author: David Klass

Grandmaster

Grandmaster

$9.99

About This Book

Freshman Daniel Pratzer gets a chance to prove himself when the chess team invites him and his father to a weekend-long parent-child tournament. Daniel, thinking that his father is a novice, can't...

Page Count
256
Genre
On Sale
09/29/2015

Book Details

Freshman Daniel Pratzer gets a chance to prove himself when the chess team invites him and his father to a weekend-long parent-child tournament. Daniel, thinking that his father is a novice, can't understand why his teammates want so badly for them to participate. Then he finds out the truth: as a teen, his father was one of the most promising young players in America, but the pressures of the game pushed him too far, and he had to give up chess to save his own life and sanity. Now, thirty years later, Mr. Pratzer returns to the game to face down an old competitor and the same dark demons that lurk in the corners of a mind stretched by the demands of the game. Daniel was looking for acceptance—but the secrets he uncovers about his father will force him to make some surprising moves himself, in Grandmaster by David Klass.

Imprint Publisher

Square Fish

ISBN

9781250063014

In The News

“* Like Searching for Bobby Fischer, this novel about competitive chess encapsulates the intensity of the game and the players who become obsessed with it . . . [An] emotionally taut story.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Drama unfolds deliberately . . . building up to an exciting, climactic endgame . . . Smart, real, and full of feeling.” —School Library Journal

“Fast-paced, inspired writing makes this perfect for fans of John Feinstein's The Sports Beat series.” —Booklist

“Klass is in excellent control of his plot, moving swiftly to the tournament action . . . and steadily closing in on the final showdown.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Creators

Grandmaster

Grandmaster

$9.99