Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
I Kill the Mockingbird

I Kill the Mockingbird

Paul Acampora

Square Fish

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Trade Paperback

When Lucy, Elena, and Michael receive their summer reading list, they are excited to see To Kill A Mockingbird included. But not everyone in their class shares the same enthusiasm. So they hatch a plot to get the entire town talking about the well-known Harper Lee classic. They plan controversial ways to get people to read the book, including re-shelving copies of the book in bookstores so that people think they are missing and starting a website committed to "destroying the mockingbird." Their efforts are successful when all of the hullabaloo starts to direct more people to the book. But soon, their exploits start to spin out of control and they unwittingly start a mini revolution in the name of books.

I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora is a middle grade novel perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird and Go Set a Watchman. This title has Common Core connections.

“The banter among the three whip-smart friends would make John Green proud. . . . You won't have to hide any copies of this to create demand.” —The Bulletin

“Fans of Janet Tashjian's The Gospel According to Larry series will enjoy this look at how the power of creativity and the internet can cause a cultural movement. . . . Acampora's novel is for lovers of literature, especially how the classics work in the current moment.” —VOYA

Indiana Young Hoosier Award Master List, Maryland Black-Eyed Susan Award, Maryland Black-Eyed Susan Award ML, Kentucky Blue Grass Award Master List, Vermont Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award, Minnesota Maud Hart Lovelace Book A ML

EXCERPT

1
The Queen of England Is in Our Bathroom


My mother's wheelchair does not fit through the bathroom door, and I don't know what to do about it. I pull the chair back an inch and then roll it into the door frame again. The...

Reviews

Praise for I Kill the Mockingbird

“Fans of the Harper Lee classic--and book nerds everywhere--should flock to this uplifting, unabashed tribute.” —The Horn Book

“The banter among the three whip-smart friends would make John Green proud. . . . You won't have to hide any copies of this to create demand.” —BCCB

“Acampora's well-written, resolutely cheerful offering celebrates books, reading, and life.” —Booklist

“Funny, poignant, and quirky.” —School Library Journal

“Fans of Janet Tashjian's The Gospel According to Larry series will enjoy this look at how the power of creativity and the internet can cause a cultural movement. . . . Acampora's novel is for lovers of literature, especially how the classics work in the current moment.” —VOYA

“Literary terrorists hit Connecticut, but things go awry for a trio of well-meaning book addicts. . . . The spot-on dialogue combines with the irresistible appeal of young teenagers enthusiastically pursuing bad ideas for a fast, page-flipping read.” —Kirkus Reviews

“This strong novel stands on its own as a testament to the power of reverse psychology, but will resonate with fans of the original Mockingbird and maybe inspire a few to check it out.” —Publishers Weekly

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Paul Acampora

Paul Acampora is an avid reader, an enthusiastic dad, and a ferocious fan of being human. Paul lives in Allentown, Pennsylvania, with his wife and two kids. Paul is a frequent contributor to the Scholastic Storyworks magazine. I Kill the Mockingbird is his third novel for young readers.

Paul Acampora

From the Publisher

Square Fish

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER