Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Kill 'Em with Cayenne

Kill 'Em with Cayenne

A Mystery

Spice Shop Mystery Series (Volume 2)

Gail Oust

Minotaur Books

BUY THE BOOK

A brand-new, finger-lickin' good mystery-with recipes!-featuring smart, spunky, small-town Georgia spice shop owner and amateur sleuth Piper Prescott
Spices are flying off the shelves of Spice It Up!, and Piper Prescott couldn't be happier. Contestants and BBQ aficionados from all over the Southeast are beginning to arrive in Brandywine Creek, Georgia, for the annual barbecue festival. Many of the town's citizens plan to use Piper's premium spices to concoct savory rubs and sassy sauces. Among the locals vying for the grand prize are Becca Dapkins and Maybelle Humphries. The women have been arch enemies ever since Buzz Oliver dumped Maybelle and started seeing Becca. The situation turns hotter than a jalapeño when Becca's body is found bludgeoned by a brisket. When Maybelle tops Chief Wyatt McBride's list of suspects, Piper begins her own investigation to prove her friend's innocence.
"A lively, engaging heroine, accented with a sprinkling of delicious spices."-Donna Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of the Meg Langslow series
Piper's search for the murderer heats up as grills smoke and mouth-watering scents of barbecue fill the air. But with the festival winding down, time is running out. Will Piper discover who clobbered Becca with a cheap cut of meat-or become the killer's next victim?

"Oust excels [at] serving up another seasoning-themed cozy complete with a guide to peppers and a rub recipe."-Kirkus Reviews

CHAPTER 1



"CHANGE IS A good thing, right?"

I wasn't quite sure how to respond to my BFF's question. Sometimes change wasn't either good or bad, it was just change. And I ought to know. Ask anyone in Brandywine...

Praise for Kill 'Em with Cayenne

“[A] quality first in a Southern cozy series… The practical, vulnerable Piper turns to her colorful BBF, Reba Mae Johnson, for help in proving her innocence. Two possible love interests add spice-and that's not counting Piper's former husband. This is a must-read for fans of Carolyn Hart's Death on Demand series, as well as those who like culinary mysteries.” —Publishers Weekly on Rosemary and Crime

“Piper's real-life problems as she negotiates her peril, along with some sassy small talk from Reba, will have fans of Oust (Shake, Murder, and Roll, 2011, etc.) looking for the sequel.” —Kirkus on Rosemary and Crime

“Struggles with her teen daughter and problems trying to keep business going add dimension to the story of Piper's sleuthing efforts. A strong cast of secondary characters add to the appeal. Fans of Jenn McKinlay and Ellery Adams will want to add this series to their reading lists.” —Booklist on Rosemary and Crime

“Gail Oust has crafted an excellent mystery, chock full of savory treats including a charming small town atmosphere and a lively, engaging heroine, accented with a sprinkling of delicious spices. Truly a cut above - and highly recommended!” —Donna Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Hen of the Baskervilles, on Rosemary and Crime

“Gail Oust has whipped up a killer read featuring the snappy new amateur sleuth Piper Prescott. Added into the mystery mix are a sweet puppy, a troublesome ex, a charming new beau and a smoki… More…

“[A] quality first in a Southern cozy series… The practical, vulnerable Piper turns to her colorful BBF, Reba Mae Johnson, for help in proving her innocence. Two possible love interests add spice-and that's not counting Piper's former husband. This is a must-read for fans of Carolyn Hart's Death on Demand series, as well as those who like culinary mysteries.” —Publishers Weekly on Rosemary and Crime

“Piper's real-life problems as she negotiates her peril, along with some sassy small talk from Reba, will have fans of Oust (Shake, Murder, and Roll, 2011, etc.) looking for the sequel.” —Kirkus on Rosemary and Crime

“Struggles with her teen daughter and problems trying to keep business going add dimension to the story of Piper's sleuthing efforts. A strong cast of secondary characters add to the appeal. Fans of Jenn McKinlay and Ellery Adams will want to add this series to their reading lists.” —Booklist on Rosemary and Crime

“Gail Oust has crafted an excellent mystery, chock full of savory treats including a charming small town atmosphere and a lively, engaging heroine, accented with a sprinkling of delicious spices. Truly a cut above - and highly recommended!” —Donna Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Hen of the Baskervilles, on Rosemary and Crime

“Gail Oust has whipped up a killer read featuring the snappy new amateur sleuth Piper Prescott. Added into the mystery mix are a sweet puppy, a troublesome ex, a charming new beau and a smokin' hot chief of police. Rosemary and Crime is a character-driven zip zap of a tale with a robust mystery that readers will relish.” —Jenn McKinlay, New York Times bestselling author of Book, Line, and Sinker, on Rosemary and Crime

“A down-but-not-out divorcee deals with a new life, an appealing but challenging teenage daughter, and murder, teeming up with a spunky dog in a delightful Southern romp. Fast, freewheeling, and fun.” —Carolyn Hart, national bestselling author of What the Cat Saw, on Rosemary and Crime

“A delicious new mystery series guaranteed to make you hungry for more. Gail Oust's warm, witty characters bring southern charm to life.” —Krista Davis, national bestselling author of The Diva Digs Up the Dirt, on Rosemary and Crime

“Rosemary and Crime is a custom blend of humor and suspense with an added dash of flavorful characters. Piper Prescott is a tasteful addition to the world of amateur sleuths. Gail Oust has created a delicious new addition to the world of cozy mysteries. I'm definitely adding her to my must-read list.” —Jacklyn Brady, national bestselling author of Arsenic and Old Cake, on Rosemary and Crime

“Cleverly written, plotted, and the characters are interesting and entertaining.” —ReaderToReader.com on Rosemary and Crime

- Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Gail Oust

The author of the Bunco Babes mystery series, GAIL OUST is often accused of flunking retirement. Hearing the words "maybe it's a dead body" while golfing fired her imagination for writing a cozy. Ever since then, she has spent more time on a computer than at a golf course. Kill ‘Em with Cayenne is the second novel in her Spice Shop mystery series. She lives with her husband in McCormick, South Carolina.

image of Gail Ousto
Suzanne Burnes Photography

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER