Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Dog Dish of Doom

Dog Dish of Doom

An Agent to the Paws Mystery

Agent to the Paws (Volume 1)

E. J. Copperman

Minotaur Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

Hardcover

Cozy fans and animal lovers alike won't be able to keep their paws off Dog Dish of Doom. Laugh-out-loud funny, E.J. Copperman's series debut is "lots of fun" (Library Journal, starred).

Kay Powell wants to find that break-out client who will become a star. And she thinks she’s found him: His name is Bruno, and he has to be walked three times a day.

Kay is the Agent to the Paws, representing showbiz clients who aren’t exactly people. In fact: they're dogs. Bruno’s humans, Trent and Louise, are pains in the you-know-what, and Les McMaster, the famous director mounting a revival of Annie, might not hire Bruno just because he can’t stand them.

This becomes less of an issue when Trent is discovered face down in Bruno’s water dish, with a kitchen knife in his back. Kay’s perfectly fine to let the NYPD handle the murder, but when the whole plot seems to center on Bruno, her protective instincts come into play. You can kill any people you want, but you’d better leave Kay’s clients alone.

EXCERPT

CHAPTER ONE


“Can he whimper?” Les McMaster—yes, the Les McMaster: Broadway director, visionary, and musical-comedy hit maker—was concerned about my client Bruno, whom he was auditioning for a featured role in his latest...

Reviews

Praise for Dog Dish of Doom

Praise for Dog Dish of Doom:

"Admirers of old comedy sketches and anyone looking for a laugh-out-loud mystery should pick up this series launch by Copperman."—Library Journal (starred)

"Readers will root for Kay to be more than pals with Sam Gibson, proprietor of Cool Beans coffee house—and, of course, to keep Bruno as more than a client. [Filled with] resilient, warm, funny supporting players."—Publishers Weekly

"The wry, feisty heroine is a welcome addition to Copperman’s troupe."—Kirkus Review

"Well-drawn characters, including a heroine who talks directly to the reader, and effectively framed with details of the theater enhance this humorous cozy."—Booklist

Praise for E.J Copperman:

Some Like It Hot Buttered has garnered Copperman comparisons to Janet Evanovich.” —Oline Cogdill, Sun-Sentinel Off the Page

"Copperman develops his lively characters almost as effortlessly as he delivers the jokes—and the occasional guffaw—and manages to sneak in some suspenseful twists besides.” —Publishers Weekly

“The writing is terrific...at least a smile on my face or laughing out loud.” —Gloria Feit, Spinetinger Magazine

"Yes, this book is that good… brings to mind the renowned M.C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin.” —My Shelf.com (Laura Hinds)

“Copperman sets up an intriguing premise. Lots of fun.” —Library Journal (starred review)

“'The Dave Barry of the New Jersey Turnpike'...a first-rate comedic mystery writer.” —Jeff VanderMeer

“Lots of laughs, some nice red herrings, and a perfect way to spend a summer afternoon.” —Book Bitch

“Fans of Charlaine Harris and Sarah Graves will relish this.” —Julia Spencer-Fleming

Night of the Living Deed could be the world’s first screwball mystery. You’ll die laughing and then come back a very happy ghost.” —Chris Grabenstein, Anthony and Agatha award winning author

“Cleverly written and humorous… A fun book.” —Crimespree Magazine

The Thrill of the Haunt is an easy and enjoyable read. It contains a bunch of ghosts and some good characters with the right amount of tension and suspense.” —Seattle News

“Delightfully fresh and witty… Pure heaven." —Chosen as a top pick of 2014, Mystery Scene Magazine

"Another crime solving hero shines in this novel." —Foreword Reviews

"Absolutely charming, totally enjoyable...an almost perfect novel...sparkles with Cohen’s light touch and sure hand. Bravo. —Aunt Agatha’s (Ann Arbor, MI) Newsletter Chosen as one of the Top 5 Mysteries of 2014!

Shows why he is a wonderful mystery author with his humorous yet action-packed investigative tale.” —Harriet Klausner

“A twisty mystery with lots of laughs and lots of heart.” —BookBitch.com

“The mystery is top-notch, with some great twists and turns. Cohen’s voice is fresh, the dialogue snappy.” —RT Bookclub

“An engaging detective story that keeps you guessing… I love this mystery.” —Fresh Fiction

“Captivating…Readers will look forward to the next adventure.” —Publishers Weekly (Starred review)

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

E. J. Copperman

E.J. COPPERMAN is someone you could sit down and have a beer with, if that’s your thing. Or a hot chocolate. Or a diet soda. Actually, you can have anything you want as long as you don’t care what E.J. is drinking.

E.J. is the author of a number of mystery series: Agent to the Paws begins with Dog Dish of Doom and other series include the Haunted Guesthouse mysteries, Asperger’s mysteries, and Mysterious Detective mysteries.

E.J. Copperman

Author Website: E.J. Copperman writing as Jeffrey Cohen

Community

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER