Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The 33

The 33

Deep Down Dark: The Untold Stories of 33 Men Buried in a Chilean Mine, and the Miracle That Set Them Free

Héctor Tobar

Picador

BUY THE BOOK

Now a Major Motion Picture Starring Antonio Banderas
Includes New Material Exclusive to the Paperback

A Finalist for a National Book Critics Circle Award
A Finalist for a Los Angeles Times Book Prize
A New York Times Book Review Notable Book
Selected for NPR's Morning Edition Book Club

When the San José mine collapsed outside of Copiapó, Chile, in August 2010, it trapped thirty-three miners beneath thousands of feet of rock for a record-breaking sixty-nine days. After the disaster, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Héctor Tobar received exclusive access to the miners and their tales, and in The 33, he brings them to haunting, visceral life. We learn what it was like to be imprisoned inside a mountain, understand the horror of being slowly consumed by hunger, and experience the awe of working in such a place-underground passages filled with danger and that often felt alive. A masterwork of narrative journalism and a stirring testament to the power of the human spirit, The 33 captures the profound ways in which the lives of the Chilean miners and everyone involved in the catastrophe were forever changed.

1

A COMPANY MAN



In the San José Mine, sea level is the chief point of reference. The five-by-five-meter tunnel of the Ramp begins at Level 720, which is 720 meters above sea level. The Ramp descends into the mountain...

Praise for The 33

“My favorite book of the year. Perfect for fans of Unbroken.” —Ann Patchett (People)

“An account that brims with emotion and strength.” —USA Today

“A powerful tale of universal interest.” —The Christian Science Monitor

“Masterful ... Taut with suspense and moments of tenderness and replete with a cast of unforgettable characters, Deep Down Dark ranks with the best of adventure literature.” —Scott Wallace, Los Angeles Times

Reviews from Goodreads

Héctor Tobar

HÉCTOR TOBAR is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and a novelist. He is the author of The Barbarian Nurseries, Translation Nation, and The Tattooed Soldier. The son of Guatemalan immigrants, he is a native of Los Angeles, where he lives with his wife and three children.

image of Héctor Tobaro
© Patrice Normand / Agence Opale

Picador

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER