Book details

The 33

Deep Down Dark: The Untold Stories of 33 Men Buried in a Chilean Mine, and the Miracle That Set Them Free

Author: Héctor Tobar

The 33

The 33

About This Book

Now a Major Motion Picture Starring Antonio Banderas
Includes New Material Exclusive to the Paperback

A Finalist for a National Book Critics Circle Award
A Finalist for a Los Angeles...

Page Count
336
Genre
On Sale
10/13/2015

Book Details

Now a Major Motion Picture Starring Antonio Banderas
Includes New Material Exclusive to the Paperback

A Finalist for a National Book Critics Circle Award
A Finalist for a Los Angeles Times Book Prize
A New York Times Book Review Notable Book
Selected for NPR's Morning Edition Book Club

When the San José mine collapsed outside of Copiapó, Chile, in August 2010, it trapped thirty-three miners beneath thousands of feet of rock for a record-breaking sixty-nine days. After the disaster, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Héctor Tobar received exclusive access to the miners and their tales, and in The 33, he brings them to haunting, visceral life. We learn what it was like to be imprisoned inside a mountain, understand the horror of being slowly consumed by hunger, and experience the awe of working in such a place-underground passages filled with danger and that often felt alive. A masterwork of narrative journalism and a stirring testament to the power of the human spirit, The 33 captures the profound ways in which the lives of the Chilean miners and everyone involved in the catastrophe were forever changed.

Imprint Publisher

Picador

ISBN

9781250088949

Reading Guide

In The News

“My favorite book of the year. Perfect for fans of Unbroken.” —Ann Patchett (People)

“An account that brims with emotion and strength.” —USA Today

“A powerful tale of universal interest.” —The Christian Science Monitor

“Masterful ... Taut with suspense and moments of tenderness and replete with a cast of unforgettable characters, Deep Down Dark ranks with the best of adventure literature.” —Scott Wallace, Los Angeles Times

About the Creators

The 33

The 33