Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Confectioner's Tale

The Confectioner's Tale

A Novel of Paris

Laura Madeleine

Thomas Dunne Books

BUY THE BOOK

At the famous Patisserie Clermont, a chance encounter with the owner's daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air. But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words “Forgive me.” Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

Chapter One

Cambridge, March 1988



I burst through the gates of King’s College just as the chapel bells mark the hour. I’m late, and of all the appointments I could be late for, this is the worst.

A...

Praise for The Confectioner's Tale

“Delightful, delicious and so typically French sweet and salty: this debut is a must read for every reading gourmet and for any Paris-Lover. Tasteful, joyful, Parisian – je l’aime.”—Nina George, New York Timesbestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

“In her fast-paced, deliciously addictive debut novel, Laura Madeleine throws the reader directly into 1910 Paris. You can feel the grittiness of Montmartre, see the Left Bank streets, and smell the sugar in the patisseries. Featuring romance, family secrets, and a well-executed dual narrative, The Confectioner’s Tale is as transportive a book as you can read.” —Michelle Gable, New York Times bestselling author of A Paris Apartment andI'll See You in Paris

"A great tale of mystery, artistry, history, and a little romance."—Library Journal

"[A] passionate and thrilling story. Fans of Alex Rosenberg and Naomi Wood will enjoy this glimpse inside the decadent and sensual world of 1910s Paris."—Booklist

“Mouth-watering and mysterious... a compelling read.” —Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Postcard

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Laura Madeleine

After a childhood spent acting professionally and training at a theatre school, LAURA MADELEINE changed her mind and went to study English Literature at Newnham College, Cambridge. The author of The Confectioner's Tale, she now writes fiction, as well as recipes, and was formerly the resident cake baker for Domestic Sluttery. She lives in Bristol, but can often be found visiting her family in Devon, eating cheese, and getting up to mischief with her sister, fantasy author Lucy Hounsom. She lives in the UK.

image of Laura Madeleineo
Rachel Sherlock Photography

Thomas Dunne Books

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER