Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Marmalade Murders

The Marmalade Murders

A Penny Brannigan Mystery

A Penny Brannigan Mystery (Volume 9)

Elizabeth J. Duncan

Minotaur Books


The Marmalade Murders is the ninth book in Elizabeth J. Duncan's award-winning mystery series, celebrated for its small-town charm and picturesque Welsh setting and starring amateur sleuth Penny Brannigan.

The competition is friendly and just a little fierce at the annual Llanelen agricultural show as town and country folk gather for the outdoor judging of farm animals and indoor judging of cakes, pies, pastries, chutneys, jams and jellies, along with vegetables, fruit and flowers. But this year, there’s a new show category: murder.

Local artist, Spa owner, and amateur sleuth Penny Brannigan agrees to help with the intake of the domestic arts entries and to judge the children’s pet competition on show day. When the president of the Welsh Women's Guild isn’t on hand to see her granddaughter and pet pug win a prize, the family becomes concerned. When a carrot cake entered in the competition goes missing, something is clearly amiss.

A black Labrador Retriever belonging to the agricultural show’s president discovers the body of the missing woman under the baked goods table. A newcomer to town, a transgender woman, is suspected, but amateur sleuth Penny Brannigan believes her to be innocent. She sets out to find the real killer, but when a second body is discovered days later, the case is thrown into confusion, and Penny knows it’s up to her to figure out what happened—and why.


For three days it rained. Not the soft, gentle kind that’s really more of a fine mist, but the hard, lashing kind that can turn a halfhearted trickle of a waterfall into a gushing torrent in minutes, and bring normally...

Praise for The Marmalade Murders

Praise for The Marmalade Murders:

"[an] inviting picture of life in rural Wales."—Publishers Weekly

Praise for Elizabeth Duncan:

“Fans of small-town cozies will find a lot to like.” —Publishers Weekly on Murder on the Hour

“The lush landscape of Wales is lovingly described along with details of art, artists, and antiques in this mystery populated with quirky characters set in a charming village. Share with readers who enjoy Jane K. Cleland’s Josie Prescott cozies with their similar antiques frame.” —Booklist on Murder on the Hour

“Clever and chilling.” —Richmond-Times Dispatch on Never Laugh as a Hearse Goes By

“The charming, unusual setting and quirky cast of characters make Duncan’s sixth book in the series an entertaining read that’s only enhanced by the many tutorials on slate mining and Welsh history.” —Library Journal on Slated for Death

“Spring isn’t itself without a really good British cozy and Duncan, who lives in Toronto, serves up a perfect teafest in her terrific Penny Brannigan series, set in Wales... With lots of action and local colour, Duncan’s book is a perfect spring getaway.” —The Globe and Mail on Slated for Death

Reviews from Goodreads

Elizabeth J. Duncan

Elizabeth J. Duncan is a winner of the Bloody Words Best Light Mystery Award and has been a finalist for the Agatha and Arthur Ellis Awards. She has worked as a writer and editor for some of Canada’s largest newspapers, including the Ottawa Citizen and Hamilton Spectator. Duncan is a faculty member of the Humber School for Writers. She lives in Toronto, Canada and enjoys spending time each year in North Wales.

Elizabeth is the author of the Penny Brannigan Mystery series, including Murder on the Hour, Slated for Death, and The Cold Light of Mourning.

image of Elizabeth J. Duncano
Scuralli Photography, Toronto


    Latest on Facebook


    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook