Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Spinny Icky Showdown

The Spinny Icky Showdown

The Adventures of Arnie the Doughnut

The Adventures of Arnie the Doughnut (Volume 3)

Laurie Keller

Square Fish

BUY THE BOOK

Arnie steps up to the plate in a sensational game show competition!

Now that Arnie has conquered the bowling alley and the planet Ufonut, he's back for another round of wild adventures in The Spinny Icky Showdown. This time the venue is a traveling television game show (in the spirit of WIPEOUT!) that comes to town. Arnie, Peezo, and their buddies can't wait to participate in the crazy obstacle course. But Arnie and his crew are in for a challenge once they learn what they are up against—do they stand a chance against Nick Pumpernickel? (Also known as The Pumpernator!) Let the games begin!

The Spinny Icky Showdown is part of Laurie Keller's funny Adventures of Arnie the Doughnut chapter book series that began with Bowling Alley Bandit and Invasion of the Ufonuts.

Praise for the Adventures of Arnie the Doughnut Series:

“Arnie the doughnut returns in a 'who-donut' chapter book that will appeal to fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants and Lincoln Peirce's Big Nate series.” —School Library Journal, starred review on Bowling Alley Bandit

The Adventures of Arnie the Doughnutread them all!
Arnie, the Doughnut
Invasion of the Ufonuts
The Spinny Icky Showdown

Praise for The Spinny Icky Showdown

Praise for the Adventures of Arnie the Doughnut series:

“Arnie the doughnut returns in a 'who-donut' chapter book that will appeal to fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants and Lincoln Peirce's Big Nate series.” —School Library Journal, starred review on Bowling Alley Bandit

A yummy chapter-book series opener.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review on Bowling Alley Bandit

“Should be a winner with reluctant readers who . . . are ready for a generous dose of extreme silliness.” —Childrens Literature on Invasion of the Ufonuts

Praise for Arnie, the Doughnut:

“Arnie takes destiny into his own hands with vastly entertaining results.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review on Arnie, the Doughnut

“Laurie Keller is a goofball. She's a genius. She's a goofball and a genius.” —The New York Times Book Review on Arnie, the Doughnut

“Keller gives ‘pet food' a new meaning in this savory outing. . . . So deliciously silly is this confection that few readers will pass up second helpings.” —Kirkus Reviews on Arnie, the Doughnut

“Good for a belly laugh.” —Newsday on Arnie, the Doughnut

Arnie is one of the cleverest and funniest books I've seen in a long time.” —BookPage

“Packed with fun and sprinkled with so many illustrative and humorous asides.” —Star Tribune, Minneapolis, MN on Arnie, the Doughnut

“In picture books, usually only dogs are as funny as this. Keller doesn't miss a trick.” —San Diego Union Tribune on Arnie, the Doughnut

“Keller's riotous collages . . . which are fil… More…

Praise for the Adventures of Arnie the Doughnut series:

“Arnie the doughnut returns in a 'who-donut' chapter book that will appeal to fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants and Lincoln Peirce's Big Nate series.” —School Library Journal, starred review on Bowling Alley Bandit

A yummy chapter-book series opener.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review on Bowling Alley Bandit

“Should be a winner with reluctant readers who . . . are ready for a generous dose of extreme silliness.” —Childrens Literature on Invasion of the Ufonuts

Praise for Arnie, the Doughnut:

“Arnie takes destiny into his own hands with vastly entertaining results.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review on Arnie, the Doughnut

“Laurie Keller is a goofball. She's a genius. She's a goofball and a genius.” —The New York Times Book Review on Arnie, the Doughnut

“Keller gives ‘pet food' a new meaning in this savory outing. . . . So deliciously silly is this confection that few readers will pass up second helpings.” —Kirkus Reviews on Arnie, the Doughnut

“Good for a belly laugh.” —Newsday on Arnie, the Doughnut

Arnie is one of the cleverest and funniest books I've seen in a long time.” —BookPage

“Packed with fun and sprinkled with so many illustrative and humorous asides.” —Star Tribune, Minneapolis, MN on Arnie, the Doughnut

“In picture books, usually only dogs are as funny as this. Keller doesn't miss a trick.” —San Diego Union Tribune on Arnie, the Doughnut

“Keller's riotous collages . . . which are filled with gleeful puns, winning characters, and over-the-top silliness, are as manic and fun as a sugar high.” —Booklist on Arnie, the Doughnut

Off-the-wall humor and zany artwork.” —Seattle Post Intelligencer on Arnie, the Doughnut

- Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Laurie Keller

Laurie Keller is the acclaimed author-illustrator of Do Unto Otters, The Scrambled States of America, Open Wide: Tooth School Inside, and Bowling Alley Bandit and Invasion of the Ufonots, Books One and Two in the Adventures of Arnie the Doughnut series. Arnie, the Doughnut was an off-Broadway musical. Laurie Keller lives on the shore of Lake Michigan.

Read an Interview of Laurie Keller

Square Fish

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER