Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Key of Skeleton Peak: Legends of the Lost Causes

The Key of Skeleton Peak: Legends of the Lost Causes

Legends of the Lost Causes (Volume 3)

Brad McLelland & Louis Sylvester

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

BUY THE BOOK

Dark magic meets the Old West in Brad McLelland & Louis Sylvester's The Key of Skeleton Peak: Legends of the Lost Causes, the epic conclusion to the action-adventure series!

Keech Blackwood and his fellow Lost Causes have won their share of battles, but the war against the forces of darkness still rages on.

In their final standoff against the ruthless outlaw and sorcerer, Reverend Rose, the Lost Causes face their most perilous trial yet: stopping Rose and his henchmen from retrieving the ancient, powerful objects that would return him to his full, frightening strength. As the vigilante orphans race to the dangerous depths of Skeleton Peak, the site of the Key that would free the Reverend from his wicked prison, they’ll have to outmaneuver Rose’s most faithful—and menacing—ally: a creature spawned by darkness and shadow. But ever in pursuit of justice and vengeance for their fallen families, the Lost Causes won’t give up without a fight.

Packed with rip-roaring action, adventure, and powerful friendships, this series is perfect for fans of John Flanagan's The Brotherband Chronicles and Peter Lerangis's The Seven Wonders.

Praise for the Legends of the Lost Causes series:

"This is a fun and exciting story, written with the utmost respect for the Osage culture." —Wah-Zah-Zhi Cultural Center

"[A] rollicking adventure filled with mystery and magic that crackles like a brush fire." —Emma Trevayne, author of The House of Months and Years

"Thrilling, dark, and full of heart, this is a West… More…

Dark magic meets the Old West in Brad McLelland & Louis Sylvester's The Key of Skeleton Peak: Legends of the Lost Causes, the epic conclusion to the action-adventure series!

Keech Blackwood and his fellow Lost Causes have won their share of battles, but the war against the forces of darkness still rages on.

In their final standoff against the ruthless outlaw and sorcerer, Reverend Rose, the Lost Causes face their most perilous trial yet: stopping Rose and his henchmen from retrieving the ancient, powerful objects that would return him to his full, frightening strength. As the vigilante orphans race to the dangerous depths of Skeleton Peak, the site of the Key that would free the Reverend from his wicked prison, they’ll have to outmaneuver Rose’s most faithful—and menacing—ally: a creature spawned by darkness and shadow. But ever in pursuit of justice and vengeance for their fallen families, the Lost Causes won’t give up without a fight.

Packed with rip-roaring action, adventure, and powerful friendships, this series is perfect for fans of John Flanagan's The Brotherband Chronicles and Peter Lerangis's The Seven Wonders.

Praise for the Legends of the Lost Causes series:

"This is a fun and exciting story, written with the utmost respect for the Osage culture." —Wah-Zah-Zhi Cultural Center

"[A] rollicking adventure filled with mystery and magic that crackles like a brush fire." —Emma Trevayne, author of The House of Months and Years

"Thrilling, dark, and full of heart, this is a Western like none I’ve ever read. I loved it." —Stefan Bachmann, author of The Peculiar and The Whatnot

Less…

CHAPTER 1

THE SCARECROW


Keech Blackwood lay flat in the deep snow, watching the hunched figure down in the pasture wobble in the blizzard wind. His trailmates, Duck Embry and Quinn Revels, waited to his left and right,...

Praise for The Key of Skeleton Peak: Legends of the Lost Causes

Praise for the Legends of the Lost Causes series:

"This is a fun and exciting story, written with the utmost respect for the Osage culture." —Wah-Zah-Zhi Cultural Center

"[A] rollicking adventure filled with mystery and magic that crackles like a brush fire." —Emma Trevayne, author of The House of Months and Years

"Thrilling, dark, and full of heart, this is a Western like none I’ve ever read. I loved it." —Stefan Bachmann, author of The Peculiar and The Whatnot

"The Old West lingo-laden dialogue is pitch-perfect—not to mention contagious. It’s rare to see a Western in middle grade fiction—especially one that, like this one, eliminates some of the genre’s more harmful stereotypes of Native populations . . . [this] will surely gain more than a few young fans." —School Library Journal

"Vividly drawn characters, evocative writing, thrilling suspense." —The Buffalo News

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Brad McLelland & Louis Sylvester

Born and raised in Arkansas, Brad McLelland spent several years working as a crime journalist in the South before earning his MFA in creative writing from Oklahoma State University. A part-time drummer and singer, Brad lives in Oklahoma with his wife, stepdaughter, a mini-Aussie who gives hugs, and a chubby cat who begs for ham.

Louis Sylvester is a professor at Lewis-Clark State College in Lewiston, Idaho. He earned his PhD from Oklahoma State University. He enjoys playing tabletop games from his collection of over 1,000 card and board games, watching western films, reading fantasy novels, and spending time with his wife and two dogs.

Together, McLelland and Sylvester coauthor the Legends of the Lost Causes series.

image of Brad McLellando
Courtesy of Connie West

Louis Sylvester

Read Author Interview at The Childrens Book Review

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER