Book details

The Devil's Engine: Hellfighters

(Book 2)

The Devil's Engine (Volume 2)

Author: Alexander Gordon Smith

The Devil's Engine: Hellfighters

The Devil's Engine: Hellfighters


About This Book

From Alexander Gordon Smith, "the Stephen King of YA horror" (The Book Zone), the explosive second book in the Devil's Engine trilogy.
Page Count
On Sale

Book Details

In Hellraisers, he made a demonic deal. Now it’s time to pay the price.

Thrown into a relentless war against the forces of darkness, fifteen-year-old Marlow Green and his squad of secret soldiers must fight for control of the Devil’s Engines—ancient, infernal machines that can make any wish come true, as long as you are willing to put your life on the line.

But after a monstrous betrayal, Marlow, Pan and the other Hellraisers find themselves on the run from an enemy with horrific powers and limitless resources—an enemy that wants them dead at all costs.

Failure doesn’t just mean a fate worse than death for Marlow, it means the total annihilation of the world. And when all looks lost and the stakes couldn’t be higher, just how far is he willing to go?

Alexander Gordon Smith's thrilling sequel to The Devil's Engine: Hellraisers is perfect for teen readers who like action-packed, high-stakes novels.

Praise for The Devil's Engine: Hellfighters:

“Adventure fans will be thrilled by the fast-paced, wall-to-wall action, and horror readers will delight at the supernatural terror and gore in the Engineers’ battle against chaos and pure evil.” —Booklist

“Smith takes readers on another twisted, twisting journey and—to paraphrase the narrative—leaves readers with 'images that belong in the sickest of horror movies' . . . This brings the same fear, fire, and comic relief as its predecessor, and readers will be happy enough with this sequel to the first Faustian tale to look forward to the next one.” —Kirkus Reviews

Also by Alexander Gordon Smith:

The Devil's Engine series
The Devil's Engine: Hellraisers (Book 1)
The Devil's Engine: Hellfighters (Book 2)
The Devil's Engine: Hellwalkers (Book 3)

The Fury

The Escape from Furnace series
Lockdown (Book 1)
Solitary (Book 2)
Death Sentence (Book 3)
Fugitives (Book 4)
Execution (Book 5)

Imprint Publisher

Square Fish



In The News

The Devil’s Engine: Hellraisers

“A YA horror knockout full of nonstop action, populated by broken but beautiful characters, and blisteringly scary.” —Emmy Laybourne, author of Sweet and the Monument 14 series

“This Faustian tale is a hit for horror fans looking for a world of mystery, the macabre, and lots of fire and fighting.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

About the Creators

The Devil's Engine: Hellfighters

The Devil's Engine: Hellfighters