Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Dark Above

The Dark Above

A Novel

Jeremy Finley

St. Martin's Press

BUY THE BOOK

In this sequel to the critically-acclaimed novel that grabbed fans of X-Files and Stranger Things, Jeremy Finley returns with another thriller full of aliens and government cover-ups.

For most of his life, William Chance has been the living proof that his grandmother and her fellow researchers into missing people were right all along about the terror from the stars. Now, he’s avoiding the limelight and hiding out from everyone, including his family. He knows he can avoid everything, except for the nightmares: fires, storms, disease and violence – he dreams of it all.

When he’s suddenly exposed, he finds that the media, government operatives and renegade true believers are desperate to find him, but he has another mission. Joined by a girl with terrifying abilities, he begins a desperate journey across the United States to find the others who share his dreams to stop what could be the final days of the world.

Jeremy Finley’s debut The Darkest Time of Night was called “outstanding” in a starred review from Publishers Weekly and was a June 2018 SIBA Okra Selection. Now, he continues the story of Lynn and William, fifteen years later in a new fast-paced novel full of suspense and government cover-ups, perfect for thriller and supernatural fans alike.

ONE


Her Birkenstocks, with straps nearly identical in color to her turquoise bracelet, scooted along the cobblestones. Every third paver or so, she would eye a raised edge or a bit of moss, both of which she knew would surely result...

Praise for The Dark Above

"Nail-biting adventure...captivating....Fans of Justin Cronin's The Passage, TV's Stranger Things, and all versions of Stephen King's IT will want to sit under summertime stars to binge this quick read. Any teen of adult fan of sf thrillers will enjoy this story, although they may want to read the first installment before jumping in." —Library Journal

"It is not a stretch to see fans of Netflix's Stranger Things or Sylvain Neuvel's Sleeping Giants (2016) enjoying this book." —Booklist

"As intense as it is compulsively readable. Lyrically written and expertly plotted, moody and elegantly thrilling, it will hook you from page one all the way to the shocking end. This haunting follow-up to his stellar debut THE DARKEST TIME OF NIGHT firmly cements Finley in the who's who of today's thriller writers. It's perfect reading for fans of Stranger Things and The X-Files, but also has a much broader appeal....Perfect summer reading."
New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison

Praise for The Darkest Time of Night:

Darkest Time of Night will keep you turning pages...If this sounds like a cross between The X-Files, The OA, Stranger Things, and Mr. Robot, that's because it is...[A] hugely satisfying, while still mystifying, suspense novel.” —NPR

“X-Files fans will eat up this TV reporter's debut, about a senator's wife searching for her grandson – and suspecting an alien abduction. "The lights took him," the boy's brother says, leading Lynn Roseworth to try … More…

"Nail-biting adventure...captivating....Fans of Justin Cronin's The Passage, TV's Stranger Things, and all versions of Stephen King's IT will want to sit under summertime stars to binge this quick read. Any teen of adult fan of sf thrillers will enjoy this story, although they may want to read the first installment before jumping in." —Library Journal

"It is not a stretch to see fans of Netflix's Stranger Things or Sylvain Neuvel's Sleeping Giants (2016) enjoying this book." —Booklist

"As intense as it is compulsively readable. Lyrically written and expertly plotted, moody and elegantly thrilling, it will hook you from page one all the way to the shocking end. This haunting follow-up to his stellar debut THE DARKEST TIME OF NIGHT firmly cements Finley in the who's who of today's thriller writers. It's perfect reading for fans of Stranger Things and The X-Files, but also has a much broader appeal....Perfect summer reading."
New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison

Praise for The Darkest Time of Night:

Darkest Time of Night will keep you turning pages...If this sounds like a cross between The X-Files, The OA, Stranger Things, and Mr. Robot, that's because it is...[A] hugely satisfying, while still mystifying, suspense novel.” —NPR

“X-Files fans will eat up this TV reporter's debut, about a senator's wife searching for her grandson – and suspecting an alien abduction. "The lights took him," the boy's brother says, leading Lynn Roseworth to try tracking down her ex-boss, a UFO maven, for the truth. This book: It's out there.” —People magazine

"Outstanding debut... Finley’s complex portrayal of his heroic lead will carry readers through plot developments that would come across as unconvincing in the hands of a lesser writer. X-Files fans will be enthralled." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The Darkest Time of Night is a gripping and graceful thriller that conjures moody atmosphere and haunting circumstances into a rich read. Perfect for fans of the X-Files, Whitley Strieber, and Stranger Things, author Jeremy Finley delivers the goods in this compelling novel that will have you turning pages -- and turning up the lights." —Michael Koryta, New York Times Bestselling Author of Rise the Dark and So Cold The River

"Strange disappearances, mysterious lights, flocking ladybugs, a single gravestone in the woods – Jeremy Finley weaves it all together into a delightful mystery with a sci-fi twist that makes the unbelievable seem totally plausible. Fasten your seatbelt, lock your doors, and don’t go into the woods!" —Jennifer McMahon, New York Times bestselling author

"A long-overdue Close Encounters for the modern age, The Darkest Time of Night is a top notch, scary and all-too-real debut with Hollywood written all over it. Thrilling speculative fiction at its finest. Finley is a talented new name to watch.” —J.T. Ellison, New York Times bestselling author of Lie to Me

"I can say without reservation that The Darkest Time of Night is an absolute must for anyone who has enjoyed The X-Files. Even if you are not an X-Files devotee (and I am not), you will find yourself engrossed until the last page. The Darkest Time of Night combines science fiction and mystery with family drama and wins on all fronts. A compelling read." —F. Paul Wilson, New York Times bestselling author

"The X-Files meets The Good Wife. With a twisty surprise on every page, this seamlessly written and captivating thriller is edgy, unique and incredibly thought-provoking. Jeremy Finley is a star." —Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony, and Mary Higgins Clark Award winning author

"From the first page, I was hooked on Jeremy Finley’s action-packed thriller. Tension crackles, mysteries abound, and conspiracies escalate in this crisply-written and imaginative novel. As the indomitable heroines (think Thelma and Louise) race against time and UFOs to find a missing child, Finley’s unerring sense of pacing and suspense will make you read far into the darkest time of night." —Ann Weisgarber, author of The Personal History of Rachel DuPree and The Promise

"The Darkest Time of Night is a truly remarkably written story. It is fast-paced and suspenseful … a thriller that is a combination of science fiction and government cover-up. Once you start, you can’t put this one down. A little bit scary, a whole lot heartrending; a complex plot, and many brave people make this a book that will make you question what might or might not actually exist.” —Nancy McFarlane, Fiction Addiction bookstore (South Carolina)

Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Jeremy Finley

Jeremy Finley's investigative reporting has resulted in criminal convictions, legislative hearings before the U.S. Congress, the payout of more than a million dollars to scam victims, and the discovery of missing girls. The winner of twenty regional Emmys and Edward R. Murrow awards, he is also the winner of a national Headliner award, a national Edward. R Murrow award and a two-time recipient of the IRE award (recognizing the best in investigative journalism). He is the chief investigative reporter at the NBC affiliate in Nashville, TN, where he lives with his wife and daughters.

image of Jeremy Finleyo
Ashley Hylbert

Read Articles by the Author on News 4

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    St. Martin's Press

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER