Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Caraval: Chapter Sampler

Caraval: Chapter Sampler

Stephanie Garber

Flatiron Books

BUY THE BOOK

This excerpt from CaravalStephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary gamecontains for the first six chapters.

Everyone is talking about Caraval!

“Spellbinding.” Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes
“Beautifully written.” Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
“Shimmers with magic.” Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner’s Curse
“Darkly enchanting.” Kiersten White, author of And I Darken
“Decadent.” Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen
“Like stepping into a living dream.” Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon
“Magnificent.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Destined to capture imaginations.” Kirkus Reviews
"Ideal for fans ofThe Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games.SLJ

Praise for Caraval: Chapter Sampler

“A spellbinding tale of sisterhood, love and betrayal. Like her characters, I lost myself in the dangerous, enchanting world she created—and never wanted to come out.” —Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember In the Ashes and A Torch in the Night

“Enchanting and mysterious, Stephanie Garber's Caraval is a story rich with sumptuous detail, beautifully written.” —Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn

"Caraval shimmers with magic. This is an inventive, delightful tale with several aces up its sleeve." —Marie Rutkoski, New York Times bestselling author of the Winner's Trilogy

“In a book where nothing is at it appears, one thing is certain: Caraval is the darkly enchanting adventure you’ve been looking for!” —Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

"A decadent and enchanting tale. Caraval will sink its teeth into you, and you will not want to leave." —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

"A tale of sisterly devotion painted in colors of cerise and shimmering gold. If you ever wondered how it would feel to step into a living dream, here's your ticket." —Stacey Lee, critically acclaimed author of Outrun the Moon

"Stephanie Garber doesn't just dazzleshe makes me believe." —Jodi Meadows, New York Times bestselling co-author of My Lady Jane

“Magnificent . . . a spellbinding tale of love, loss, sacrifice, and hope.” Publishers Weekly, … More…

“A spellbinding tale of sisterhood, love and betrayal. Like her characters, I lost myself in the dangerous, enchanting world she created—and never wanted to come out.” —Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember In the Ashes and A Torch in the Night

“Enchanting and mysterious, Stephanie Garber's Caraval is a story rich with sumptuous detail, beautifully written.” —Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn

"Caraval shimmers with magic. This is an inventive, delightful tale with several aces up its sleeve." —Marie Rutkoski, New York Times bestselling author of the Winner's Trilogy

“In a book where nothing is at it appears, one thing is certain: Caraval is the darkly enchanting adventure you’ve been looking for!” —Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

"A decadent and enchanting tale. Caraval will sink its teeth into you, and you will not want to leave." —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

"A tale of sisterly devotion painted in colors of cerise and shimmering gold. If you ever wondered how it would feel to step into a living dream, here's your ticket." —Stacey Lee, critically acclaimed author of Outrun the Moon

"Stephanie Garber doesn't just dazzleshe makes me believe." —Jodi Meadows, New York Times bestselling co-author of My Lady Jane

“Magnificent . . . a spellbinding tale of love, loss, sacrifice, and hope.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

Caraval delights the senses: beautiful and scary, described in luscious prose, this is a show readers will wish they could enter. A double love story, one sensual romance and the other sisterly loyalty, anchors the plot, but the real star here is Caraval and its secrets. Immersive and engaging . . . destined to capture imaginations.” Kirkus Reviews

"This twisty, terrifically fun page-turner is ideal for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Neil Gaiman's Stardust, and fantasy novels where relationships between sisters drive the plot, such as The Hunger Games.VERDICT: A must-have fantasy debut for high school collections." School Library Journal

“Rich, vivid scene-setting and descriptions make for entertaining reading . . . a colorful, imaginative fantasy with some steamy romance for good measure.” —ALA Booklist

- Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Stephanie Garber

Stephanie Garber loves Disneyland because it’s the one place on earth where she feels as if the fantastical stories she loves to write about could actually come to life. When she's not writing young adult fantasy, she teaches creative writing at a private college in northern California, where she’s known for turning assignments into games and taking students on field trips that involve book signings. Caraval is her first novel for young adults. She would love to hear from you on social media.

image of Stephanie Garbero
Protoge Production Co

Watch an interview with the author