Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Dance of Thieves

Dance of Thieves

Mary E. Pearson

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

BUY THE BOOK

A stunning new young adult adventure set in the kingdoms of the Remnant, by the author of the New York Times-bestselling Remnant Chronicles and the Jenna Fox Chronicles.

A formidable outlaw family that claims to be the first among nations.

A son destined to lead, thrust suddenly into power.

Three fierce young women of the Rahtan, the queen's premier guard.

A legendary street thief leading a mission, determined to prove herself.

A dark secret that is a threat to the entire continent.

When outlaw leader meets reformed thief, a cat-and-mouse game of false moves ensues, bringing them intimately together in a battle that may cost them their lives—and their hearts.

The Remnant Chronicles
The Beauty of Darkness
The Heart of Betrayal
The Kiss of Deception

Praise for Dance of Thieves:

"Pearson is a gifted storyteller and spinner of eminently satisfying romances and fantasy. Fans will thrill at these newest protagonists, especially the women warriors, who are equal partners in the play for power." —Publishers Weekly

"This novel has it all—romance, conflict, danger, and humor. A must-have for all fantasy YA shelves." —
School Library Journal

CHAPTER ONE

KAZIMYRAH OF BRIGHTMIST


The ghosts are still here.

The words lingered in the air, each one a shimmering spirit, cold whispers of caution, but I wasn’t afraid.

I already knew.

The ghosts,...

Praise for Dance of Thieves

“A brilliant fantasy with a boldly beating heart. Mary E. Pearson is a fearless storyteller—I’m still trying to catch my breath from this book.” —Stephanie Garber, New York Times–bestselling author of Caraval and Legendary

"The slow-burning, seductive romance never overwhelms the intricate plot, which is built with layers upon layers of twists, reveals, and double-crosses." —Booklist

"This novel has it all—romance, conflict, danger, and humor." —School Library Journal

"Pearson is a gifted storyteller and spinner of eminently satisfying romances and fantasy." —Publishers Weekly
The Beauty of Darkness:

"Pearson has created such a dynamic and inspiring heroine. . . . Fantasy fans will love this marvelous, high-action conclusion to the trilogy." —School Library Journal

"Full and rich." —Booklist

"Pearson is an excellent storyteller . . . . She brings an ambitious trilogy to a rousing conclusion." —The Horn Book

The Heart of Betrayal:

A New York Times Bestseller

"It's rare that the second book in a series is as good–or perhaps better–than the first, but that's the case here. . . . Anticipation for the next volume will start as soon as this one is put down." —Booklist, starred review

The Kiss of Deception:

"Pearson (the Jenna Fox Chronicles) is off to an extraordinary start with her fantasy series, creating an alluring world and romance that's ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner." —Publishers Week… More…






“A brilliant fantasy with a boldly beating heart. Mary E. Pearson is a fearless storyteller—I’m still trying to catch my breath from this book.” —Stephanie Garber, New York Times–bestselling author of Caraval and Legendary

"The slow-burning, seductive romance never overwhelms the intricate plot, which is built with layers upon layers of twists, reveals, and double-crosses." —Booklist

"This novel has it all—romance, conflict, danger, and humor." —School Library Journal

"Pearson is a gifted storyteller and spinner of eminently satisfying romances and fantasy." —Publishers Weekly
The Beauty of Darkness:

"Pearson has created such a dynamic and inspiring heroine. . . . Fantasy fans will love this marvelous, high-action conclusion to the trilogy." —School Library Journal

"Full and rich." —Booklist

"Pearson is an excellent storyteller . . . . She brings an ambitious trilogy to a rousing conclusion." —The Horn Book

The Heart of Betrayal:

A New York Times Bestseller

"It's rare that the second book in a series is as good–or perhaps better–than the first, but that's the case here. . . . Anticipation for the next volume will start as soon as this one is put down." —Booklist, starred review

The Kiss of Deception:

"Pearson (the Jenna Fox Chronicles) is off to an extraordinary start with her fantasy series, creating an alluring world and romance that's ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Pearson offers readers a wonderfully full-bodied story: harrowing, romantic, and full of myth and memory, fate and hope." —Booklist, starred review

"Romance, adventure, mysticism–this book has it all and it just may be the next YA blockbuster." —School Library Journal, starred review

Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Mary E. Pearson

Mary E. Pearson is the author of many novels for teens, including the New York Times-bestselling Remnant Chronicles: The Kiss of Deception, The Heart of Betrayal, The Beauty of Darkness, and the acclaimed Jenna Fox Chronicles. She writes full-time from her home in Carlsbad, California.

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER