Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Phoenix Unchained

The Phoenix Unchained

Book One of The Enduring Flame

The Enduring Flame (Volume 1)

Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory

Tor Books


New York Times and USA Today bestselling authors Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory first teamed up to write The Obsidian Trilogy, set in a wondrous world filled with magical beings, competing magic systems, and a titanic struggle between good and evil.
That world proved so popular with the creators and readers alike that Lackey and Mallory have returned to it with The Phoenix Unchained, Book One of The Enduring Flame, the opening volume of a new epic fantasy trilogy.
After a thousand years of peace, much Magick has faded from the world. The Elves live far from humankind. There are no High Mages, and Wild Mages are seen only rarely. Bisochim, a powerful Wild Mage, is determined to reintroduce Darkness to the world, believing that it is out of Balance.

Tiercel, a young Armethalian nobleman, is convinced that High Magic is not just philosophy. He attempts a spell—and draws the unwelcome attention of Bisochim. Tiercel survives Bisochim's attack and begins trying to turn himself into a High Mage.

Next in line to be Harbormaster of Armethalieh, Harrier instead finds himself regularly saving Tyr's life and meeting magickal people and creatures. To Harrier's dismay, it seems that he must become a hero.

In The Phoenix Unchained, Harrier and Tiercel begin a marvelous journey to uncover their destinies. Along the way, they meet a charming female centaur, several snooty Elves, and the most powerful dragon their world has ever known.

Chapter 1

It was Festival Sennight in Armethalieh, and even though spring was sennights away, the entire city was garlanded in flowers of every kind. The City's greenhouses were always kept busy for moonturns in anticipation of the demand,...

Praise for The Phoenix Unchained

“High fantasy fans should appreciate the intelligent storytelling with an unmistakable flavor of Andre Norton at her best.” —Publisher's Weekly on When Darkness Falls

“Plenty of good-versus-evil action…. A rich reading experience. The overriding message in this trilogy is that all power comes with a cost, and every action has a consequence, an important lesson for readers of all ages.” —VOYA on When Darkness Falls


Reviews from Goodreads

Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory

Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory have written The Outstretched Shadow, named Best Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror by VOYA; To Light A Candle, a USA Today bestseller; and When Darkness Falls, a New York Times bestseller. Lackey lives in Oklahoma. Mallory lives in New York.

image of Mercedes Lackeyo
Glamour Shots

Tor Books

Latest on Facebook